Reset in case you get the "engine will not restart" message. Thanks GDE

Reset in case you get the "engine will not restart" message. Thanks GDE

This is a discussion on Reset in case you get the "engine will not restart" message. Thanks GDE within the RAM 1500 Diesel Mechanical forums, part of the RAM 1500 Diesel Garage - RAM 1500 Diesel Mechanics Corner category; No credit to me, just passing on some very useful information I read buried within another thread, posted by Green Diesel Engineering (The Hot Tune ...

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35
Like Tree30Likes

Thread: Reset in case you get the "engine will not restart" message. Thanks GDE

  1. #1
    RAM Regular mitchmaclean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Hunter River, Prince Edward Island, Canada
    Posts
    353
    Member #
    3109
    Vehicle
    2014 Laramie Ecodiesel with GDE Tune
    Liked
    412 times

    How to reset "engine will not restart" message. Thanks GDE

    No credit to me, just passing on some very useful information I read buried within another thread, posted by Green Diesel Engineering (The Hot Tune specialists!). Write it down, it could save your life (if you get aggravated like I would!), or your time! Thanks to GDE for providing this excellent piece of information. What a great contributor to this community

    "If the mileage on your stock ECM reaches 0mi and you get the "Engine Will Not Restart" message there is still a way to get it started.

    Pull out the starter relay, and put the key in the RUN position. Take a short piece of wire and jump (in the fuse box) between where pins 30 and 87 on the relay would go (if it's labeled 1-2-3-5, jump between pins 3 & 5). Engine will start right back up.

    Thanks
    GDE"

    This might not seem like a big thing right now, but with all these sensors etc I could almost see this happening A LOT as the trucks age etc. My solution would be to splice a wire on to pin 1 and one on pin 2, run the two of them through the firewall and mount a little tiny push-button down by the OBD2 port somewhere, so you could just push it every few days if needed on a regular basis. Seems extreme perhaps to some, but there will be probably many people having this as an issue in 5-10 years as the truck ages, and this would be a quick remedy where you wouldn't have to worry about taking the truck back to the stealership.
    Last edited by mitchmaclean; 10-20-2015 at 11:04 PM.
    97hmcs, Pip, grembling22 and 5 others like this.

  2. #2
    Administrator 97hmcs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Location: Location, Location
    Posts
    4,900
    Member #
    1428
    Vehicle
    2014 Ram Ecodiesel
    Liked
    2433 times
    and don't forget the photo posted by Davemd.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Reset in case you get the "engine will not restart" message. Thanks GDE-starter-relay.jpg  

  3. #3
    Administrator 97hmcs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Location: Location, Location
    Posts
    4,900
    Member #
    1428
    Vehicle
    2014 Ram Ecodiesel
    Liked
    2433 times
    For your glove box: REVISED TO READ PINS 3 & 5
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by 97hmcs; 10-20-2015 at 10:18 AM.
    Pip, mitchmaclean, Mourns and 2 others like this.

  4. Remove Advertisements
    Ram1500Diesel.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    RAM Veteran Mourns's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    493
    Member #
    5736
    Vehicle
    2015 Limited 4x4 EcoD
    Liked
    186 times
    Quote Originally Posted by 97hmcs View Post
    For your glove box: Attachment 10606
    Thanks.

  6. #5
    RAM Professor My_Red_Ram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Northeast Mississippi
    Posts
    728
    Member #
    6665
    Vehicle
    2015 Laramie CrewCab 2wd with 5.5ft bed
    Liked
    351 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Pip View Post
    Think this might be great post for a sticky so others can find easily it if need. JMO.
    My thoughts exactly!!!

  7. #6
    RAM Rookie Rick_A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Riverside Ca.
    Posts
    8
    Member #
    5559
    Vehicle
    2015 1500 eco 4x4 Outdoorsman
    Liked
    6 times
    This is a great hint but I think that a couple of the pin numbers may be wrong. A jumper between 30 and 87 looks OK but I think that if you have the 1-5 numbers then you should jumper between 3 and 5 not 1 and 2. In fact, on the side of my OEM relay the numbers are marked as 3(30) and 5(87).
    Someone else want to verify this?

    Rick

  8. #7
    RAM Rookie twnpipe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    26
    Member #
    2502
    Liked
    6 times
    On what occassions does the mileage go to Zero? is there just a electrical glitch that sends it to zero? thank you for your post. Much appreciated a quick solution to a big problem

  9. #8
    RAM Regular mitchmaclean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Hunter River, Prince Edward Island, Canada
    Posts
    353
    Member #
    3109
    Vehicle
    2014 Laramie Ecodiesel with GDE Tune
    Liked
    412 times
    Quote Originally Posted by twnpipe View Post
    On what occassions does the mileage go to Zero? is there just a electrical glitch that sends it to zero? thank you for your post. Much appreciated a quick solution to a big problem
    It's a countdown from a certain mileage due to a CEL or problem that needs to be serviced (censors, etc etc). This is just a work around in case you can't get to a dealer, don't care etc, so you aren't stranded where the vehicle will not start due to the 200 mile countdown having been initiated and made it down to 0 miles to no restart. From what I understand anyways.

  10. #9
    Administrator 97hmcs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Location: Location, Location
    Posts
    4,900
    Member #
    1428
    Vehicle
    2014 Ram Ecodiesel
    Liked
    2433 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick_A View Post
    This is a great hint but I think that a couple of the pin numbers may be wrong. A jumper between 30 and 87 looks OK but I think that if you have the 1-5 numbers then you should jumper between 3 and 5 not 1 and 2. In fact, on the side of my OEM relay the numbers are marked as 3(30) and 5(87).
    Someone else want to verify this?

    Rick
    It sure would be helpful if this could be verified. Anyone?

  11. #10
    RAM Platinum Member Captainmal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Sundance (Wimauma), Florida
    Posts
    7,451
    Member #
    185
    Vehicle
    '14 Ram 1500 Ecodiesel quad cab 4 x 4
    Liked
    3678 times
    Printed it out for the glove box. Thanks.
    Gypsyjon likes this.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. "Incorrect DEF detected, see dealership" message
    By Scooter in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Mechanical
    Replies: 73
    Last Post: 07-06-2015, 07:00 AM
  2. Resetting the "will not restart" countdown
    By MarkyZ in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Mechanical
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 03-08-2015, 12:11 AM
  3. Pic of "engine will not restart" DEF Problem
    By ER NURSE in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 02-14-2015, 12:12 PM
  4. ED "Service DEF, See Dealer Message"
    By Ccarmichael05 in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Mechanical
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 02-06-2015, 07:51 PM
  5. DEF Warning "Engine will not restart"
    By TarponWT in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Mechanical
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-16-2014, 11:16 AM

Search tags for this page

2014 gmc ecu reset

,

2015 ram 2500 incorrect def detected warning

,

how to reset 200mile def service messgae

,

how to reset ram will not restart message

Click on a term to search for related topics.