Official Alfaobd thread

Official Alfaobd thread

This is a discussion on Official Alfaobd thread within the DIY How To Section forums, part of the RAM 1500 Diesel Garage - RAM 1500 Diesel Mechanics Corner category; I have started this thread in hopes that we can build upon it and create our own FAQ and application help section that is specific ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: Official Alfaobd thread

  1. #1
    RAM Professional sheepdogtrail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Western Washington
    Posts
    574
    Member #
    134
    Liked
    157 times

    Official Alfaobd thread

    I have started this thread in hopes that we can build upon it and create our own FAQ and application help section that is specific to our 3.0L diesel engine.

    AlfaOBD is a software for FCA group cars diagnostics. Fiat/Alfa Romeo/Lancia cars produced in 1994-2017, and Chrysler/Dodge/Ram/Jeep cars of model years 2005-2017 are supported. Although the software is primarily targeted for car owners, it provides many of the features of professional scanners.

    Model years starting in 2018 are also fully supported currently with the aid of a bypass module. Personally I have a 2014 Ram Eco Diesel so I do not have a use for a bypass module. It would be great for those have supported vehicles in the model years starting in 2018 if they could also post about there experiences using a bypass module.

    AlfaOBD natively supports Electronic control units installed in FCA group cars. Native support differs AlfaOBD from many other diagnostic applications providing OBD II generic support limited with engine and transmission modules. The application suite is powerful giving the user control of many of the same functions in the professional WiTech II tool that most Ram dealers use.

    AlfaOBD is supported on Windows PC and Android devices. The official web site of Alfaobd is: AlfaOBD
    Kazimodo and Tracman63 like this.
    Ordered on 03/26/14 PM PST. - Took delivery on 5/20/14.
    2014 Ram 1500 Crew Cab 4x4 3.0 L Ecodiesel Outdoorsman with:
    Silver Metallic/Black
    20" Black Wheels
    3.92 Rear Axle
    Spray in Bed Liner
    Comfort Group
    Trailer Tow Group
    Rear Window Defroster
    Premium Bucket Seats
    Air Suspension
    Park View Back Up Camera

    Mods: Nitto Ridge Grapplers (LT 275/65/20), Black Aluminum Running Boards, ARE X Series Cap.

  2. #2
    RAM Professional sheepdogtrail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Western Washington
    Posts
    574
    Member #
    134
    Liked
    157 times
    Setting Tire Size with AlfaOBD.

    I found this link doing a google search. The instructions seem legit to me.

    https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...K2rkCqg5dlpSi0
    Ordered on 03/26/14 PM PST. - Took delivery on 5/20/14.
    2014 Ram 1500 Crew Cab 4x4 3.0 L Ecodiesel Outdoorsman with:
    Silver Metallic/Black
    20" Black Wheels
    3.92 Rear Axle
    Spray in Bed Liner
    Comfort Group
    Trailer Tow Group
    Rear Window Defroster
    Premium Bucket Seats
    Air Suspension
    Park View Back Up Camera

    Mods: Nitto Ridge Grapplers (LT 275/65/20), Black Aluminum Running Boards, ARE X Series Cap.

  3. #3
    RAM Guru Ram1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Adirondacks
    Posts
    1,081
    Member #
    11106
    Vehicle
    2015 ED Laramie, 355 Diff ,ARE Cap, pull me over first Red
    Liked
    496 times
    Is there a specific reader or one that works best with our trucks?
    Do not rule out working with your hands, but it does not preclude using your head.

  4. Remove Advertisements
    Ram1500Diesel.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    RAM Professional sheepdogtrail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Western Washington
    Posts
    574
    Member #
    134
    Liked
    157 times
    Apparently, the OBDLink LX, MX or the new MX+ work the best.

    The MX and MX+ access more features. The LX seems to work for most of the BCM stuff as well as other modules.

    More information on the supported readers is on the AlfaOBD home page.
    Ordered on 03/26/14 PM PST. - Took delivery on 5/20/14.
    2014 Ram 1500 Crew Cab 4x4 3.0 L Ecodiesel Outdoorsman with:
    Silver Metallic/Black
    20" Black Wheels
    3.92 Rear Axle
    Spray in Bed Liner
    Comfort Group
    Trailer Tow Group
    Rear Window Defroster
    Premium Bucket Seats
    Air Suspension
    Park View Back Up Camera

    Mods: Nitto Ridge Grapplers (LT 275/65/20), Black Aluminum Running Boards, ARE X Series Cap.

  6. #5
    RAM Bronze Member Bounty Hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Southern IL
    Posts
    3,043
    Member #
    7966
    Vehicle
    2016 Laramie
    Liked
    1263 times
    I use a cheap VeePak bluetooth OBD2 interface and it works well for me.
    2016 Laramie CC 6'4", Delmonico Red, GDE Hot tune and Trans tune, External oil cooler, PPE Trans pan

  7. #6
    Administrator 97hmcs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Location: Location, Location
    Posts
    7,240
    Member #
    1428
    Vehicle
    2014 Ram Ecodiesel
    Liked
    4135 times
    The MX and MX+ are the same except the MX+ will work on Android plus the iPhone. Keep in mind the AlphaOBD doesn't work on the iPhone.

  8. #7
    RAM Ninja Kazimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Montreal Quebec Canada
    Posts
    2,300
    Member #
    6985
    Vehicle
    2015 Big Horn CC 5.7' 3.55
    Liked
    1041 times
    the 2018 trucks have some sort of firewall , needing extra stuff to access the truck's computers
    someone else can elaborate on this , (( adding the zAuto bypass. Not the zAuto double bypass. The bypass module installs neatly
    under the uconnect right at the SGW module. ))
    ..
    all I have is post # 149 to #154 in this thread :https://www.ram1500diesel.com/forum/...ramming-8.html

  9. #8
    RAM Guru Ram1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Adirondacks
    Posts
    1,081
    Member #
    11106
    Vehicle
    2015 ED Laramie, 355 Diff ,ARE Cap, pull me over first Red
    Liked
    496 times
    Quote Originally Posted by sheepdogtrail View Post
    Apparently, the OBDLink LX, MX or the new MX+ work the best.

    The MX and MX+ access more features. The LX seems to work for most of the BCM stuff as well as other modules.

    More information on the supported readers is on the AlfaOBD home page.
    I was specifically looking for something that can do a forced re - gen. I don't think that the MX can do that.
    At least I never saw it when I was using one.
    Do not rule out working with your hands, but it does not preclude using your head.

  10. #9
    RAM Professional sheepdogtrail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Western Washington
    Posts
    574
    Member #
    134
    Liked
    157 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Ram1 View Post
    I was specifically looking for something that can do a forced re - gen. I don't think that the MX can do that.
    At least I never saw it when I was using one.
    What version of AlfaOBD do you have? Reads like you are running on Android. If so, what version of Android are you running.

    I will have to verify but I believe with the newest version of AlfaOBD it is possible to use a LX and a MX+ to perform a forced re-gen. Maybe on the MX it is not possible. I only have the LX and MX+.
    Ordered on 03/26/14 PM PST. - Took delivery on 5/20/14.
    2014 Ram 1500 Crew Cab 4x4 3.0 L Ecodiesel Outdoorsman with:
    Silver Metallic/Black
    20" Black Wheels
    3.92 Rear Axle
    Spray in Bed Liner
    Comfort Group
    Trailer Tow Group
    Rear Window Defroster
    Premium Bucket Seats
    Air Suspension
    Park View Back Up Camera

    Mods: Nitto Ridge Grapplers (LT 275/65/20), Black Aluminum Running Boards, ARE X Series Cap.

  11. #10
    RAM Jr Member CanyonMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    85209
    Posts
    57
    Member #
    37730
    Vehicle
    2017 Ram 1500 EcoDiesel
    Liked
    50 times
    I have the MX and run Alfa on my Samsung tablet. I believe that I can see the entire suite. My problem is I don't know what I don't know. My truck is a 2017 but when I connect it displays as a 2016. It is an early 17 so that may explain that. Navigating the menus has been difficult and I hope those with more experience will share their knowledge.
    Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Official outdoorsman thread
    By sledogmilionair in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 458
    Last Post: 06-10-2018, 05:36 PM
  2. [Official] I've Ordered and Put Down a Deposit Thread
    By cereal killer in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Purchasing
    Replies: 397
    Last Post: 01-03-2017, 11:30 AM
  3. [OFFICIAL] Bluespark tuning thread
    By chris12559 in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Tuning
    Replies: 265
    Last Post: 03-19-2015, 08:12 AM
  4. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-23-2014, 04:24 PM
  5. The official "I've put down a deposit on a Ram Ecodiesel" thread!
    By DieselDan in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-07-2013, 01:07 PM