Aem & gde

Aem & gde

This is a discussion on Aem & gde within the FCA/EPA 3.0L Diesel Settlement and AEM (Approved Emissions Modification) forums, part of the FCA/EPA 3.0L Diesel Settlement and AEM category; I have the hot tune. If I have the AEM done, I should be able to send my ecm off to GDE to be reflashed ...

Results 1 to 7 of 7
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By bobcat67
  • 1 Post By Captainmal

Thread: Aem & gde

  1. #1
    RAM Regular brianw0048's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    305
    Member #
    13834
    Liked
    94 times

    Aem & gde

    I have the hot tune. If I have the AEM done, I should be able to send my ecm off to GDE to be reflashed right away, correct? They're just going to reload the same tune that's currently on the ecm?

    I saw another thread or something that said GDE is recommending we wait a couple of months for them to figure out the code but I wouldn't think that applies to a reflash.

    Thanks.

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    RAM Sr Member idoseadoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    171
    Member #
    35862
    Vehicle
    2015 Ram 1500, Lexus NX hybrid, Mopeds, boats, jet skis
    Liked
    28 times
    Good to know you were still eligible for the AEM and cash despite being tuned.

  3. #3
    RAM Regular brianw0048's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    305
    Member #
    13834
    Liked
    94 times
    Quote Originally Posted by idoseadoo View Post
    Good to know you were still eligible for the AEM and cash despite being tuned.
    tune was cheaper than paying for an EGR out of pocket/warranty.

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

  4. Remove Advertisements
    Ram1500Diesel.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    MAS
    MAS is offline
    RAM Bronze Member MAS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    3,456
    Member #
    8120
    Vehicle
    2015 Ram 1500 CC 4x4 3.55's
    Liked
    1426 times
    Quote Originally Posted by brianw0048 View Post
    tune was cheaper than paying for an EGR out of pocket/warranty.

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
    If your EGR/EGR cooler failed and you put a GDE tune on and blocked of the cooler or deleted the egr you will not be able to get the updated flash and payout without replacing the hardware.

    The other post you were referring to about having to potentially wait a few months etc. was a public service type announcement made by GDE themselves. If you kept your original ECM and have a GDE one also you should be able to swap back right away, but if you did the exchange GDE has advised you might be out a while to get the tune back.

  6. #5
    RAM Professional bobcat67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    591
    Member #
    15498
    Vehicle
    2016 & 2014 Ford F-350
    Liked
    273 times
    It’s not as simple as sending it in and getting a reflash at the moment. GDE is saying to wait for the AEM until they have their end figured out. It’s pretty simple. Wait until they say they have it figured out. FCA is most likely changing the coding and many other things with this AEM.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    3DHawkeye likes this.

  7. #6
    Administrator 97hmcs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Location: Location, Location
    Posts
    7,509
    Member #
    1428
    Vehicle
    2014 Ram Ecodiesel
    Liked
    4352 times
    Quote Originally Posted by brianw0048 View Post
    I have the hot tune. If I have the AEM done, I should be able to send my ecm off to GDE to be reflashed right away, correct? They're just going to reload the same tune that's currently on the ecm?

    I saw another thread or something that said GDE is recommending we wait a couple of months for them to figure out the code but I wouldn't think that applies to a reflash.

    Thanks.

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
    https://www.ram1500diesel.com/forum/...ll-notice.html

  8. #7
    RAM Diamond Member Captainmal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Sundance (Wimauma), Florida
    Posts
    11,783
    Member #
    185
    Vehicle
    '14 Ram 1500 Ecodiesel quad cab 4 x 4
    Liked
    6489 times
    Quote Originally Posted by idoseadoo View Post
    Good to know you were still eligible for the AEM and cash despite being tuned.
    Make little sense as dealers and FCA would not know you had a "tune" if there's no equipment change to see. Even if a dealer knew about your tune, what is in it for them to harm their customer? They are just going to re-flash the ECM, make some money and away you go.
    TwoBobs likes this.
    If you wrestle with a pig you'll both get dirty and the pig loves it. .

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. So you're tuned and worried about the AEM update
    By Bounty Hunter in forum FCA/EPA 3.0L Diesel Settlement and AEM (Approved Emissions Modification)
    Replies: 68
    Last Post: 06-12-2019, 05:03 PM
  2. Edge Insight compatibility after AEM
    By DJL_57 in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-14-2019, 01:51 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-09-2017, 08:32 PM
  4. BREATHE W/ Upgraded Intakes! ~AEM~AFE~Banks Power~Bully Dog~Corsa~Injen~K&N~Volant!~
    By Aristocrat Autosport in forum Aristocrat Autosport
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-09-2017, 08:32 PM
  5. Has anyone tried AEM dry flow air filters?
    By DRobs in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Maintenance
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-23-2016, 06:50 PM