Oil Change Required?

Oil Change Required?

This is a discussion on Oil Change Required? within the FCA/EPA 3.0L Diesel Settlement and AEM (Approved Emissions Modification) forums, part of the FCA/EPA 3.0L Diesel Settlement and AEM category; My truck just recieved the AEM on Friday, June 7, 2019. I didn't have time to drive it beyond the 1 mile trek from the ...

Results 1 to 7 of 7
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Captainmal
  • 1 Post By howie12

Thread: Oil Change Required?

  1. #1
    RAM Professional phprof's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    UP North
    Posts
    558
    Member #
    23562
    Vehicle
    2014 RAM Bighorn
    Liked
    257 times

    Exclamation Oil Change Required?

    My truck just recieved the AEM on Friday, June 7, 2019. I didn't have time to drive it beyond the 1 mile trek from the dealership to home so no feelings on the engine performance.

    Question: Did any of you get the notice "Oil Change Required" after installation of the AEM?

    I did and wasn't told 2 shakes about it. When I quizzed the service adviser she hadn't heard anything about it and their diesel tech had gone home for the evening (it was after 5 pm). I only have 1500 miles on this oil fill so I'm no where near needing an oil change under normal circumstances. I do know (because I was told and also because FCA optimization is stupid that part of the AEM process required the performance of a static DPF regeneration in the parking lot. I wasn't there to watch it but I'm imagining my truck sitting in place in the middle of the lot (in case of tire it doesn't take out the building) running at 2000 rpm as smoke pours out from every leak in the exhaust system.

    Would such a process required an oil change? Is this the AEM flash just tripping the oil life indicator? Do I have to worry about excessive *fill in the blank*? Should I now be pissed that FCA just poured my last oil change down the drain?
    2014 RAM Ecodiesel Bighorn
    2014 Dodge Durango V6 3.6L

  2. #2
    RAM Professional bill-e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    623
    Member #
    5462
    Vehicle
    2015 Laramie
    Liked
    208 times
    Sounds like they either didn't perform or messed up the oil life calibration.

    Sent from my moto z3 using Tapatalk
    2015 Laramie CC 4X4, Protection Group, Convenience Group, Tow Mirror and Brake Control Group, Anti Spin Diff, 3.55, Remote Start, Uconnect 8.4AN w/Altec Lansing Speakers(9), Romik Steps, Weathertech Mud Flaps, Dual Liner, AMP BedStep, Stampede Hood Protector, Edge Insight CTS2
    Gatortrax One MX Tonneau cover, Husky Centerpoint TS Hitch, Total Load Control Air Bags
    Build 12/2014


  3. #3
    RAM Ninja Kazimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Montreal Quebec Canada
    Posts
    2,573
    Member #
    6985
    Vehicle
    2015 Big Horn CC 5.7' 3.55
    Liked
    1188 times
    A tech posted that when they perform the AEM , one step for the tech using their upgrade tool ,
    is supposed to be ask system to retain memory of previous level of oil , it was obviously forgotten
    it happened to many , who wrote about the " after AEM " experience ,
    ..
    just reset it yourself and do next oil change 1500 miles early ,,,easy :
    ..
    pick one of the step by steps :

    every time you read " < " or " > " in Howie's instructions , it means the arrows on the steering wheel
    ..
    post # 1 , howie had oil change done , dealer did not reset oil life ,,,
    post # 13 in here : https://www.ram1500diesel.com/forum/...ions-tune.html

    by howie : Oil life is now reset.
    I did not interpret the reset instructions correctly.
    First you push and hold > to reset. Then the confirm screen comes up.
    DO NOT GO DIRECT TO PUSH > TO CONFIRM> YOU MUST FIRST SCROLL THE SCREEN
    UP OR DOWN TO GET THE OK IN THE CENTER WINDOW THEN PUSH > TO CONFIRM
    .................................................. .................................................. ..................
    ..
    Other oil life reset method from another member:

    for my Laramie Ecodiesel push button start , this is the drill:

    push start button without your foot on the brake
    I scroll down to see the oil life gauge
    press the right arrow and the start button simultaneously
    pump the gas pedal three times
    press the right arrow to get the reset option. it comes up cancel, push the down arrow to get confirm
    press the right arrow again to confirm
    ---> it then resets , voila .
    Last edited by Kazimodo; 06-08-2019 at 06:50 AM.

  4. Remove Advertisements
    Ram1500Diesel.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    RAM Diamond Member Captainmal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Sundance (Wimauma), Florida
    Posts
    11,603
    Member #
    185
    Vehicle
    '14 Ram 1500 Ecodiesel quad cab 4 x 4
    Liked
    6377 times
    Mine did the same thing after the AEM. Took but a minute to shut off, turn key on without starting, go the the oil life page on the EVIC and reset to zero.

    Now go into your records of the mileage at last oil change and figure out when the next one should be. Simple and no hassle at all.
    Kazimodo likes this.
    If you wrestle with a pig you'll both get dirty and the pig loves it. .

  6. #5
    RAM Silver Member howie12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Northern Wisconsin
    Posts
    4,140
    Member #
    1600
    Vehicle
    2014 Longhorn CC4x4 Ecodiesel
    Liked
    2299 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Kazimodo View Post
    A tech posted that when they perform the AEM , one step for the tech using their upgrade tool ,
    is supposed to be ask system to retain memory of previous level of oil , it was obviously forgotten
    it happened to many , who wrote about the " after AEM " experience ,
    ..
    just reset it yourself and do next oil change 1500 miles early ,,,easy :
    ..
    pick one of the step by steps :

    every time you read " < " or " > " in Howie's instructions , it means the arrows on the steering wheel
    ..
    post # 1 , howie had oil change done , dealer did not reset oil life ,,,
    post # 13 in here : https://www.ram1500diesel.com/forum/...ions-tune.html

    by howie : Oil life is now reset.
    I did not interpret the reset instructions correctly.
    First you push and hold > to reset. Then the confirm screen comes up.
    DO NOT GO DIRECT TO PUSH > TO CONFIRM> YOU MUST FIRST SCROLL THE SCREEN
    UP OR DOWN TO GET THE OK IN THE CENTER WINDOW THEN PUSH > TO CONFIRM
    .................................................. .................................................. ..................
    ..
    Other oil life reset method from another member:

    for my Laramie Ecodiesel push button start , this is the drill:

    push start button without your foot on the brake
    I scroll down to see the oil life gauge
    press the right arrow and the start button simultaneously
    pump the gas pedal three times
    press the right arrow to get the reset option. it comes up cancel, push the down arrow to get confirm
    press the right arrow again to confirm
    ---> it then resets , voila .
    My reprogramming service order from the dealer has a statement in it that says "Perform Oil Life Data Data Exchange." I asked the dealer what that was and he said it was to transfer the oil life to the new program rather than let it reset to 0. It would be interesting to see if the OPs service order has that statement. IT probably does since I expect it is preprogrammed wording for recall V08. I guess what may be of concern is does missing this step do anything else other than not show the correct oil life.
    Kazimodo likes this.

  7. #6
    RAM Ninja Kazimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Montreal Quebec Canada
    Posts
    2,573
    Member #
    6985
    Vehicle
    2015 Big Horn CC 5.7' 3.55
    Liked
    1188 times
    Quote Originally Posted by howie12 View Post
    My reprogramming service order from the dealer has a statement
    in it that says "Perform Oil Life Data Data Exchange." ...........
    I guess what may be of concern is does missing this step do anything else other than not show the correct oil life.
    ..
    this truck having learning computers , I guess it could revert back to default parameters ,
    losing all previously learned parameters in ECM before the AEM update ,
    explaining why so many hated the way truck behaved right after AEM , then reported
    some improvements , , ,, all speculation on my part of course ..

  8. #7
    RAM Professional phprof's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    UP North
    Posts
    558
    Member #
    23562
    Vehicle
    2014 RAM Bighorn
    Liked
    257 times
    Very well, all. Thanks for the information. This all makes sense. I reset my oil life indicator (which I seldom/never follow) and made a note of it in my log.
    2014 RAM Ecodiesel Bighorn
    2014 Dodge Durango V6 3.6L

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •