AEM, WOT, Pedal to the metal, Floorboarding

This is a discussion on AEM, WOT, Pedal to the metal, Floorboarding within the FCA/EPA 3.0L Diesel Settlement and AEM (Approved Emissions Modification) forums, part of the FCA/EPA 3.0L Diesel Settlement and AEM category; I've had the AEM done. It's been years since I was an aggressive driver. My current ED has had the throttle wide open on just ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: AEM, WOT, Pedal to the metal, Floorboarding

N 48° 38.680, W 080° 40.837 (Northern Ontario)
    Member #
    Vehicle
    2016 SLT, QC, Ram Box, Black Forest Green, Canyon Brown
    Liked
    317 times

I've had the AEM done. It's been years since I was an aggressive driver. My current ED has had the throttle wide open on just one occasion, during an intake icing event that resulted in a derated turbo and a CEL. I learned then that part throttle and working with the load would overcome the derated turbo and allow better engine operation.

My truck has always had cold lag....always. Since the AEM update it is not better. There it is ... I have it and it's the same is it has always been.

I have always driven by rolling in on the throttle. Even cold, if I tap the throttle to get the engine moving, then roll in on the throttle as load builds, I can get into traffic and stay ahead of it with no trouble. Climbing hills ... tap it and then back off .... the engine will build the rpm and stay there if as long as I am not trying to mash the pedal down thru' the floorboards.

I have not found that this diesel engine runs like my gassers ... the gassers like lots of air and lots of fuel right off idle. They love big fat accelerator pumps and throttle valve plates parallel to the air flow. This truck doesn't. It likes to build and maintain load steadily.