2014-2016 ecodiesel customers RECALL notice - Page 2

2014-2016 ecodiesel customers RECALL notice

This is a discussion on 2014-2016 ecodiesel customers RECALL notice within the Green Diesel Engineering forums, part of the Vendors category; I am still waiting for FCA to even acknowledge our paperwork sent weeks ago. Once it is all done I will wait for GDE to ...

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 41
Like Tree40Likes

Thread: 2014-2016 ecodiesel customers RECALL notice

  1. #11
    RAM Jr Member jetlag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    99
    Member #
    4111
    Liked
    34 times
    I am still waiting for FCA to even acknowledge our paperwork sent weeks ago. Once it is all done I will wait for GDE to come up with their OBD tuner solution for my truck.

  2. #12
    RAM Professional smoky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    646
    Member #
    1755
    Vehicle
    2015 Long Horn, CC, 4x4
    Liked
    223 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Kazimodo View Post
    Can't wait for a " brave soul ", to swap back to stock ECM , get AEM ,
    then reinstall Hot Tuned ECM to see if it all works like before .
    ..
    Being in Canada , nothing has started here , I would hate to have to send ECM across the Border and back ,
    just to update ECM , I kept my stock module to avoid exactly that .
    Time will tell.............
    ..
    P.S. I know GDE always uses the more recent FCA tune , and then change a multidude of data in that
    latest software , to make it the " Hot Tune " , going by the last sentence in first post , am I to understand the next " Hot Tune "
    will be the AEM tune , with GDE data within it to make it the latest Hot Tune ?????
    Are you talking about the HOT TUNE ??

  3. #13
    RAM Veteran POHLHAMMER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    470
    Member #
    20441
    Vehicle
    Ram Ecodiesel Bighorn Crewcab 4x4
    Liked
    257 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Kazimodo View Post
    ..
    P.S. I know GDE always uses the more recent FCA tune , and then change a multidude of data in that
    latest software , to make it the " Hot Tune " , going by the last sentence in first post , am I to understand the next " Hot Tune "
    will be the AEM tune , with GDE data within it to make it the latest Hot Tune ?????

    I would assume yes. They will be manipulating a different set of Data , and that will require different coding. Hence the call to hold tight until they can perfect the new tune on the changed ECM flash.

    Only a guess though.. ..

    2016 BIG HORN Crew Cab SLT 4x4: -Bucket Seats-3.92 gears W/AntiSpin-Cab Lights-ITBC-Sprayed Bedliner-Carhartt Seat Covers-WeatherTech mats/rain visors-Access bed cover-Tinted Windows-Bed Mat- Skid Plates-Tow Hooks
    DeeZee Assist-Hardwired Garmin 45-MGP Caliper Covers-LED Underbody lighting-4" TC Suspension lift-HD coil springs-Bwoody adjustable track bar-35" Nitto G2s on HOSTILE Alpha H109's-Happy EGR

  4. Remove Advertisements
    Ram1500Diesel.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #14
    RAM Bronze Member Kazimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Montreal Quebec Canada
    Posts
    2,706
    Member #
    6985
    Vehicle
    2015 Big Horn CC 5.7' 3.55
    Liked
    1260 times
    To Smoky :
    Yes Hot Tune , GDE has said in the past there is around 18,000 maps in the stock tune ( Bosch )
    and they change a multitude of para meters within the stock tune , so we essentially get the stock tune
    but modified to be "better for engine longevity " in the long run .
    ..
    To Poolhammer:
    Post # 9 from GDE confirms they will update their Hot Tune again after going thru the new version of
    latest stock tune comes out , in the AEM flash , there have been many versions of the Hot Tune already
    I suspect more than 12 versions , could be 40+ .

  6. #15
    MAS
    MAS is offline
    RAM Bronze Member MAS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    3,476
    Member #
    8120
    Vehicle
    2015 Ram 1500 CC 4x4 3.55's
    Liked
    1447 times
    So the only hold up is we wont be able to put the hot tune back in (assuming ecm swap) for a few months? no issues with getting them to do the recall/update with the GDE ecm in place?

  7. #16
    RAM Professional Dieselfever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    West Tennessee
    Posts
    543
    Member #
    7134
    Liked
    499 times
    Quote Originally Posted by GDE View Post
    If you have a spare ecm, you are good to go. See our first post about the trans tune to see howto handle it. If dealer overwrite GDE trans tune, it will lock the flash tool and you will be out $200. Don't do it.
    Ok, so we install the factory tune back into the tcm. Any specific procedure instructions?

  8. #17
    RAM Sr Member JimboAnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    110
    Member #
    35910
    Vehicle
    2016 Quad Cab 4x4
    Liked
    40 times
    I will likely go get the AEM done and pass go and collect my money. drive it like that for a while and see what the future brings.................
    IG: JimboAnz / YouTube: JimboAnz

    Babe the Big Blue Ox Build Page - https://www.ram1500diesel.com/forum/...uild-page.html


  9. #18
    Administrator 97hmcs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Location: Location, Location
    Posts
    7,536
    Member #
    1428
    Vehicle
    2014 Ram Ecodiesel
    Liked
    4369 times
    Quote Originally Posted by MAS View Post
    So the only hold up is we wont be able to put the hot tune back in (assuming ecm swap) for a few months? no issues with getting them to do the recall/update with the GDE ecm in place?
    You can put your existing hot tune back in.

  10. #19
    Administrator 97hmcs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Location: Location, Location
    Posts
    7,536
    Member #
    1428
    Vehicle
    2014 Ram Ecodiesel
    Liked
    4369 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Dieselfever View Post
    Ok, so we install the factory tune back into the tcm. Any specific procedure instructions?
    The same way you did it the first time with the trans programmer,

  11. #20
    GDE
    GDE is offline
    Supporting Vendor GDE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,106
    Member #
    4308
    Vehicle
    2014 Ram EcoDiesel 3.92axle 4x4
    Liked
    2559 times
    Quote Originally Posted by MAS View Post
    So the only hold up is we wont be able to put the hot tune back in (assuming ecm swap) for a few months? no issues with getting them to do the recall/update with the GDE ecm in place?
    Dealer can overwrite GDE tuned ecm, no problems.
    MAS likes this.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Recall Notice??
    By Bmac in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 10-30-2014, 03:27 AM
  2. New Recall Notice
    By ExploreUtah in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-09-2014, 10:54 AM
  3. Recall notice in the mail
    By Penndiana in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Electrical
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-27-2014, 07:09 PM
  4. Recall Notice for 2014 Ram 1500 - Software Update for Keyless FOB
    By ExploreUtah in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-14-2014, 08:19 PM
  5. Ordering for the 2014 RAM 1500 EcoDiesel Opens for US Customers?
    By cereal killer in forum RAM 1500 Diesel News
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-19-2014, 12:33 PM