My truck's dash went haywire last night....

My truck's dash went haywire last night....

This is a discussion on My truck's dash went haywire last night.... within the RAM 1500 Diesel Electrical forums, part of the RAM 1500 Diesel Garage - RAM 1500 Diesel Mechanics Corner category; Does anyone else have a Ram Ecodiesel with the optional "DISCO DASH" option where the lights flash? Ok.. no seriously, does anybody here know Morse ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: My truck's dash went haywire last night....

  1. #1
    RAM Professor TSR6's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    798
    Member #
    1353
    Vehicle
    Laramie Limited
    Liked
    282 times

    My truck's dash went haywire last night....

    Does anyone else have a Ram Ecodiesel with the optional "DISCO DASH" option where the lights flash?

    Ok.. no seriously, does anybody here know Morse code? Is my truck sending me a message?

    Ok... super serious this time - I got home from a 3 hour trip last night, and had this happen when I pulled into the garage. The dash went nuts as you can see, but only when the lights were dimmed and the truck was at idle. If I reved it up... no problems. If i brightened the dash lights, no problems. I have not been able to replicate the problem after I restarted the truck.

    Troy - 2014 Ram EcoDiesel Limited

    Join the Ram Truck Club on Facebook

  2. #2
    RAM Guru Thermorex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    1,045
    Member #
    6942
    Vehicle
    Ram 1500 Eco diesel and jeep kj crd
    Liked
    546 times
    Can be the dimmer? I only saw that on old vehicles with a resistor that adjust the dash lights by sliding a lever over a spring to change the light intensity. I'd still try adjusting the dimmer when it does it again, at least you'll know it's not that...
    2015 4x4 Big Horn
    Gde tune
    Provent 200
    SasquatchParts.Com stage 1 egr kit
    –––––
    2005 Jeep Liberty CRD
    Too many mods...

  3. #3
    RAM Professor TSR6's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    798
    Member #
    1353
    Vehicle
    Laramie Limited
    Liked
    282 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Thermorex View Post
    Can be the dimmer? I only saw that on old vehicles with a resistor that adjust the dash lights by sliding a lever over a spring to change the light intensity. I'd still try adjusting the dimmer when it does it again, at least you'll know it's not that...
    I restarted the truck after the video... and it didnt do it again. Talk about odd!

  4. Remove Advertisements
    Ram1500Diesel.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    RAM Veteran hillbilli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Frozen North Land (Not "that" far North)
    Posts
    453
    Member #
    1589
    Vehicle
    2015 Bighorn
    Liked
    145 times
    Either a loose wire on the cluster harness or a bad cluster, if they have to replace the cluster be prepared to have a loaner for a few weeks
    2015 CC Bighorn w/air
    2014 CC Bighorn Gone
    2007 5.9 Cummins MegaCab (replaced by the ED)

  6. #5
    RAM Professor TSR6's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    798
    Member #
    1353
    Vehicle
    Laramie Limited
    Liked
    282 times
    Quote Originally Posted by hillbilli View Post
    Either a loose wire on the cluster harness or a bad cluster, if they have to replace the cluster be prepared to have a loaner for a few weeks
    Oh wonderful. I sure hope not, that bumper to bumper warranty is long gone.

  7. #6
    BBJ
    BBJ is offline
    RAM Sr Member BBJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    164
    Member #
    6663
    Vehicle
    2014 Bighorn Quad Cab ED
    Liked
    72 times
    Remember it's all run by microprocessor's. Perhaps a power down is all that's required. Remember the "blue screen of death".

    In my business, there are so many systems in modern aircraft that simply require a circuit breaker reset to power the system down and start it up again that there's actually a reset guide to accomplish this to make it behave. If it works for Boeing I'm sure FCA should get this too.
    mitchmaclean likes this.

  8. #7
    RAM Professor TSR6's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    798
    Member #
    1353
    Vehicle
    Laramie Limited
    Liked
    282 times
    Quote Originally Posted by BBJ View Post
    Remember it's all run by microprocessor's. Perhaps a power down is all that's required. Remember the "blue screen of death".

    In my business, there are so many systems in modern aircraft that simply require a circuit breaker reset to power the system down and start it up again that there's actually a reset guide to accomplish this to make it behave. If it works for Boeing I'm sure FCA should get this too.
    I already hate flying... lol. Not sure how I feel about an airplane doing CTRL+ALT+DEL haha

    Kidding.... I think?
    OiLBrnR likes this.

  9. #8
    BBJ
    BBJ is offline
    RAM Sr Member BBJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    164
    Member #
    6663
    Vehicle
    2014 Bighorn Quad Cab ED
    Liked
    72 times
    Not to worry. Only do that on the ground. No indiscriminate circuit breaker pulling in the air

    My Morse is a little rusty, but I think it says. TSR6 phone home.
    Last edited by BBJ; 11-30-2015 at 05:58 PM.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator Mopar73340's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2,453
    Member #
    4232
    Vehicle
    2015 Ram 3D 4x4 QC Outdoorsman
    Liked
    864 times
    My truck did that the other morning exactly as you describe. Lights on low turn them up slightly it goes away. Only difference I had was I was driving at highway speed. Next time in the truck at night and everything is fine. Wtf?
    2015 3D 4x4 QC Outdoorsman 3.55, 20" rims, Trailer Brake Control, Comfort Group, Luxury Group, Premium Cloth Bucket Seats, 8.4A Premium Sound (Upgrade JBL Speakers), Backup Camera, Extang Trifecta Tonneau, Bedrug Bed Mat, DeeZee Tailgate Assist, Dura Flap Splash Guards, EGR Ventvisors, Ionic Gladiator Running Boards, Tinted windows.

  11. #10
    RAM Professor TSR6's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    798
    Member #
    1353
    Vehicle
    Laramie Limited
    Liked
    282 times
    Quote Originally Posted by BBJ View Post
    Not to worry. Only do that on the ground. No indiscriminate circuit breaker pulling in the air

    My Morse is a little rusty, but I think it says. TSR6 phone home.
    My phone was connected to the bluetooth lol
    BBJ likes this.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Tonight is the night! Finally going to drive home in my new truck.
    By uncle_paul_hargis in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Purchasing
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-24-2015, 04:03 PM
  2. 2014 Ram Going Haywire...
    By Dougmore Burns in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Electrical
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-07-2015, 11:43 PM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-15-2015, 07:19 AM
  4. Dimming Dash Causing Pulsating Dash Lights
    By aspdzine in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-21-2015, 09:00 AM
  5. My truck was towed last night :(
    By MIKE in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Towing & Hauling
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12-05-2014, 09:19 AM