Diagnosing a P24AE code.

Diagnosing a P24AE code.

This is a discussion on Diagnosing a P24AE code. within the RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion forums, part of the RAM 1500 EcoDiesel Forum category; I will try to make this brief as I can but. In my previous life I was a certified technician that specialized in electronics and ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Diagnosing a P24AE code.

Member #
    Liked
    9 times

Diagnosing a P24AE code.

I will try to make this brief as I can but. In my previous life I was a certified technician that specialized in electronics and drive ability issues. This was before OBDII and I was not just a trained monkey, I was a diagnoser. Excuse me if I have some of the new terminology incorrect.

I drive a 2015 ED with 60,000+ miles on it and love it. I drive 20 miles to work so everything gets to normal operating temp. A few weeks ago I let it set and idle as I talked with my neighbor for over an hour. After I started driving the CEL came on and my neighbor, who is still a technician, scanned it to find the P24AE. Our research shoes this to be the PMS (Particulate Matter Sensor). Cleared the codes and drove for a few days before it came on again, right after I went through an automatic car wash. I read about the moisture in the connector on the frame rail but didn't have time to pull it apart to check for moisture. Continued to drive and every few days the light would come on and i would clear the code.

This past weekend I took a 10 hour trip and had a friend with Torque and a blue tooth so we monitored the PMS DPF. Pulling a 6,000 lb trailer at highway speeds the DPF % varied between 40 - 64%. Then the CEL came on and it went to 100% and stayed there. When we stopped for a break we cleared the codes and when we hit the road again the DPF was at 20%.

To me that sounds like a sensor but me being me I want to make sure there is not something else causing the code and the sensor is acting normal.