Recent "blown" engine - Page 2

Recent "blown" engine

This is a discussion on Recent "blown" engine within the RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion forums, part of the RAM 1500 EcoDiesel Forum category; There is an Oil Pressure Switch which lights a light, correct?...

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 60
Like Tree42Likes

Thread: Recent "blown" engine

  1. #11
    RAM Jr Member Tracman63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    63
    Member #
    33161
    Vehicle
    '17 Pearl White Laramie
    Liked
    25 times
    There is an Oil Pressure Switch which lights a light, correct?

  2. #12
    Administrator 97hmcs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Location: Location, Location
    Posts
    7,450
    Member #
    1428
    Vehicle
    2014 Ram Ecodiesel
    Liked
    4316 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Tracman63 View Post
    There is an Oil Pressure Switch which lights a light, correct?
    correct

  3. #13
    RAM Jr Member Lazinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    54
    Member #
    37598
    Vehicle
    2016 ED, with a 2018 engine.
    Liked
    42 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Tracman63 View Post
    There is an Oil Pressure Switch which lights a light, correct?
    That pressure switch and light combo is equivalent to waiting for a building to burn to the ground and then calling the fire department.

  4. Remove Advertisements
    Ram1500Diesel.com
    Advertisements

  5. #14
    Administrator 97hmcs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Location: Location, Location
    Posts
    7,450
    Member #
    1428
    Vehicle
    2014 Ram Ecodiesel
    Liked
    4316 times
    The stock oil pressure switch gives this indication at 0.3 bar (4.35 psi)

  6. #15
    RAM Regular r3gill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Posts
    336
    Member #
    10922
    Vehicle
    2015 Ram Ecodiesel St quad cab 2wd.
    Liked
    181 times
    4.35 psi? Might aswell don't even have a switch even. Engine is long gone before it reaches 4.35 psi.. Engineering at its finest.
    cajunhammer likes this.

  7. #16
    RAM Professional phprof's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    UP North
    Posts
    557
    Member #
    23562
    Vehicle
    2014 RAM Bighorn
    Liked
    257 times
    After I bought to FCA vehicles I found out that FCA is the second worse company for customer service.
    2014 RAM Ecodiesel Bighorn
    2014 Dodge Durango V6 3.6L

  8. #17
    RAM Ninja Perrysburg Dodgeboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,038
    Member #
    1565
    Vehicle
    2015 1500 Laramie CC SWB GDE Eco-diesel 4X4
    Liked
    975 times
    Quote Originally Posted by MAS View Post
    I believe there have been others on here who were turned away by one dealer that were fixed at another. I originally reported this wrong which is why I stated this.
    Sorry none of this adds up! First the truck will shut down if the engine oil is below 3 quarts (this is the 2.4 Tigershark spec not the Ecodiesel spec). Ask me how I know this, my Daughter has a 2014 Dodge Dart that FCA/Dodge replaced the engine in even though it was low on oil, low as not even reading on the dipstick low! Dealer called FCA/Dodge for a WAR (warranty authorization request) and without any issue they had a new engine two days later.

    My question is why would your family member drive the truck with it low on oil? Please don't tell me they didn't know it was low as again if it was low enough to keep the engine from starting there would have been warnings flashing with an annoying chime letting them know the truck was low on oil.

    Got to love some of the people here that have no freaking clue about this but sure love to run off at the mouth. If you think FCA sucks go buy Ford's 1500 diesel offering and let us know how great Ford is. They are the only car company I ever needed to sue over a lemon and I had four of their POS lemons. They pissed me off so much that I turned down their job offer and went to work for Chrysler. To be fair the Ford job would have been 72 miles one way and my currant job is seven miles. But I really didn't want to work for Ford after the screwing I got on three trucks and one van all bought new.
    7milesup, Ram1, smoky and 1 others like this.
    2015 Ram Laramie Crew Cab, short box, 4X4, GDE Tune, western brown with canyon brown light frost beige W/BENCH SEAT, wheel to wheel bars, front windows tinted 15%, 8.4AN radio and more gadgets than I know what to do with!

  9. #18
    RAM Veteran 7milesup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    423
    Member #
    36326
    Vehicle
    2015 Ram Ecodiesel Laramie Crew.
    Liked
    194 times
    On my truck I pull up the EVIC page with the temps and pressures reading on it. Don't you guys have that? I know my oil pressure goes from 20-ish all the way up to 60 depending on temp and engine RPM. Sure, the gauge doesn't move but that has been the case with with virtually every gauge by every manufacturer for the last 20 years.

  10. #19
    RAM Professional bobcat67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    584
    Member #
    15498
    Vehicle
    2016 & 2014 Ford F-350
    Liked
    265 times
    I know the low oil level systems are there and do work to an extent, but like all things, electronic systems fail. Iíve never seen a rear main fail bad enough to lose that much oil that fast, but I suppose itís possible, and if the owner wasnít paying attention or didnít notice oil spots when parked, this couldíve happened, seems like a good insurance company though. Never heard of anything like that, unless for bad fuel


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  11. #20
    RAM Professional bobcat67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    584
    Member #
    15498
    Vehicle
    2016 & 2014 Ford F-350
    Liked
    265 times
    Quote Originally Posted by 7milesup View Post
    On my truck I pull up the EVIC page with the temps and pressures reading on it. Don't you guys have that? I know my oil pressure goes from 20-ish all the way up to 60 depending on temp and engine RPM. Sure, the gauge doesn't move but that has been the case with with virtually every gauge by every manufacturer for the last 20 years.
    Itís kind of a cool system that is based on an algorithm, Iím not 100% sure if itís correlated with ambient air temp or oil temp and engine RPM, but I believe itís based off of 2 out of 3 of those to determine oil pressure. A person would think it might just be cheaper to install a real oil pressure gauge, but I guess manufacturers donít see it that way.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Blown engine
    By Cgenne27 in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-14-2019, 08:27 AM
  2. 2014 Ram ED Blown Engine Ongoing issues w/ replacement
    By mtoch in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Mechanical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-13-2018, 05:37 PM
  3. blown engine, 2014 Big Horn, 60k miles
    By fishbeer in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 08-03-2018, 06:18 AM
  4. Another user with a blown engine
    By Fred in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Mechanical
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 02-03-2016, 03:34 PM