Will truck go into limp mode after DEF warning? - Page 2

Will truck go into limp mode after DEF warning?

This is a discussion on Will truck go into limp mode after DEF warning? within the RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion forums, part of the RAM 1500 EcoDiesel Forum category; Back in the day I experimented with this. I drove well past the mileage indicated for "will not restart." Yup. When I stopped, I made ...

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Will truck go into limp mode after DEF warning?

  1. #11
    RAM Ninja DrivingZiggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Lafayette, LA, USA
    Posts
    2,063
    Member #
    1513
    Vehicle
    2015 Big Horn EcoDiesel
    Liked
    988 times
    Back in the day I experimented with this. I drove well past the mileage indicated for "will not restart." Yup. When I stopped, I made sure it was at the WalMart. Went inside and bought some DEF and came back out to see if the truck would restart. It would not restart. It took a few minutes to restart, though. I guess the float has to move and get things reset.

    This particular trip was on the interstate and the truck did NOT go into limp mode.

  2. #12
    RAM Professional biodiesel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Zuni Mountains, New Mexico
    Posts
    560
    Member #
    9554
    Vehicle
    2015 Ram Ecodiesel
    Liked
    192 times
    Quote Originally Posted by cat man View Post
    No it doesn’t go into limp mode when I was having scr problem I went all the way thru count down to truck will not restart still ran normal
    I am happy to report that I had the same experience. The truck went through the countdown and maintained power all the way to the dealership. Once the countdown ended, the screen read, "Engine Will Not Restart, Service DEF System, See Dealer". Every few miles the warning chime went off and flashed the message. It was a little annoying hearing that chime repeat itself over a span of 130 miles, but I was too happy not being in limp mode to care.

    The service advisor and shop foreman met me upon arrival. The foreman said they have done approximately 14 AEM updates and mine was the first one to experience the check engine light and P202E code soon after. He said that FCA is being very strict about allowing the shop to make any updates without a phone call. So, he said they will call FCA to see how they want the dealer to proceed.
    Kazimodo and 97hmcs like this.
    2015 3.0 Ecodiesel/Big Horn/1500/QCSB/4x4
    2016 Arctic Fox/Travel Trailer 22G/Onboard LP Cummins Onan Generator/160 Watt Solar Panel

  3. #13
    RAM Professional biodiesel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Zuni Mountains, New Mexico
    Posts
    560
    Member #
    9554
    Vehicle
    2015 Ram Ecodiesel
    Liked
    192 times
    Quote Originally Posted by DrivingZiggy View Post
    Back in the day I experimented with this. I drove well past the mileage indicated for "will not restart." Yup. When I stopped, I made sure it was at the WalMart. Went inside and bought some DEF and came back out to see if the truck would restart. It would not restart. It took a few minutes to restart, though. I guess the float has to move and get things reset.

    This particular trip was on the interstate and the truck did NOT go into limp mode.
    How did you get the truck to restart? Did you use the crossover wire?
    2015 3.0 Ecodiesel/Big Horn/1500/QCSB/4x4
    2016 Arctic Fox/Travel Trailer 22G/Onboard LP Cummins Onan Generator/160 Watt Solar Panel

  4. Remove Advertisements
    Ram1500Diesel.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #14
    RAM Ninja Kazimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Montreal Quebec Canada
    Posts
    2,441
    Member #
    6985
    Vehicle
    2015 Big Horn CC 5.7' 3.55
    Liked
    1113 times
    Glad you made it , I will copy a link to this thread' s if anyone asks the same question .
    ..
    Please let us know what the dealer finds that caused your P202E code .
    Last edited by Kazimodo; 05-14-2019 at 09:37 AM.
    biodiesel likes this.

  6. #15
    RAM Ninja Kazimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Montreal Quebec Canada
    Posts
    2,441
    Member #
    6985
    Vehicle
    2015 Big Horn CC 5.7' 3.55
    Liked
    1113 times
    Quote Originally Posted by turkeybird56 View Post
    BIODIESEL:

    GO to this URL, post #5. The truck will shut down. This is the workaround to start the truck and get it to whatever location:

    https://www.ram1500diesel.com/forum/...625000005.html

    T-Bird
    Funny , if you go down to post # 14 , there is biodiesel himself , asking a question on how to make a jumper
    from June 2018 .......
    biodiesel likes this.

  7. #16
    RAM Professional biodiesel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Zuni Mountains, New Mexico
    Posts
    560
    Member #
    9554
    Vehicle
    2015 Ram Ecodiesel
    Liked
    192 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Kazimodo View Post
    Funny , if you go down to post # 14 , there is biodiesel himself , asking a question on how to make a jumper
    from June 2018 .......
    Yeah, I remember when that thread was posted. My problem isn't so much about getting the truck restarted as much as worrying about it going into limp mode. Now that I know I can drive through the mileage countdown, most of my worries have dissipated.
    2015 3.0 Ecodiesel/Big Horn/1500/QCSB/4x4
    2016 Arctic Fox/Travel Trailer 22G/Onboard LP Cummins Onan Generator/160 Watt Solar Panel

  8. #17
    RAM Ninja Kazimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Montreal Quebec Canada
    Posts
    2,441
    Member #
    6985
    Vehicle
    2015 Big Horn CC 5.7' 3.55
    Liked
    1113 times
    Quote Originally Posted by biodiesel View Post
    How did you get the truck to restart? Did you use the crossover wire?
    I see Ziggy is " offline " right now , he states he got the message because he ran out of DEF ,
    not the code you mentioned , after refilling with DEF, the truck did not start normally right away , he had to wait a little
    for float to move he believes , then it started with the normal key or button method .
    You will not have that luxury , the dealer should know what to do , if not you can show them ,
    in another thread a member showed the jumper method to his tech who did not know about it ,
    the tech was glad to learn this method..

  9. #18
    RAM Ninja Kazimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Montreal Quebec Canada
    Posts
    2,441
    Member #
    6985
    Vehicle
    2015 Big Horn CC 5.7' 3.55
    Liked
    1113 times
    Quote Originally Posted by biodiesel View Post
    Yeah, I remember when that thread was posted. My problem isn't so much about getting the truck restarted as much as worrying about it going into limp mode. Now that I know I can drive through the mileage countdown, most of my worries have dissipated.
    The Countdown can be triggered by many different problems , with some other problems
    it will put you into Limp Mode , your experience just showed that code P202E will not ,
    ..
    it would be nice to have a list in 2 columns , one side codes that will put you in Limp Mode ,
    and on the other side a list of the codes that won't , that will take some time to create , with
    just one event every few months , .
    ..
    some reported that ,in Limp Mode , if you let go of the gaz pedal , and find the right spot
    you can go +/- 50 MPH on the highway , not so bad , as for the hills like you mentioned
    they didn't say , I'm sure it would be a challenge .

  10. #19
    RAM Professional biodiesel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Zuni Mountains, New Mexico
    Posts
    560
    Member #
    9554
    Vehicle
    2015 Ram Ecodiesel
    Liked
    192 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Kazimodo View Post
    The Countdown can be triggered by many different problems , with some other problems
    it will put you into Limp Mode , your experience just showed that code P202E will not ,.
    That's a very good point. The day I went into limp mode (2 years ago), the truck gave no warning. The warning system chimed with a "Service Electronic Throttle Control" displayed and the truck instantly detuned (went into limp mode).
    ..
    Quote Originally Posted by Kazimodo View Post
    it would be nice to have a list in 2 columns , one side codes that will put you in Limp Mode ,
    and on the other side a list of the codes that won't .
    Agreed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Kazimodo View Post
    some reported that ,in Limp Mode , if you let go of the gaz pedal , and find the right spot
    you can go +/- 50 MPH on the highway , not so bad , as for the hills like you mentioned
    they didn't say , I'm sure it would be a challenge .
    Yeah, I was in the Ozarks when it was in limp mode, so there was no flat area.
    Kazimodo likes this.
    2015 3.0 Ecodiesel/Big Horn/1500/QCSB/4x4
    2016 Arctic Fox/Travel Trailer 22G/Onboard LP Cummins Onan Generator/160 Watt Solar Panel

  11. #20
    RAM Professional biodiesel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Zuni Mountains, New Mexico
    Posts
    560
    Member #
    9554
    Vehicle
    2015 Ram Ecodiesel
    Liked
    192 times
    The Ecodiesel needs a new DEF injector; unfortunately, it's on nationwide backorder. The dealer provided us with a rental for at least 10 days. They got us a 2019 Ram HD, crew cab, Big Horn, 2500 Hemi. I can't complain!
    markcfoster and Kazimodo like this.
    2015 3.0 Ecodiesel/Big Horn/1500/QCSB/4x4
    2016 Arctic Fox/Travel Trailer 22G/Onboard LP Cummins Onan Generator/160 Watt Solar Panel

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. 0 miles and no start--use jumper wire--will it go into limp home mode??
    By pizza442 in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-22-2019, 02:18 PM
  2. 2017 EcoDiesel goes into Limp Home at 472 miles "Warning, service electronic throttle
    By PilotDave in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-05-2018, 10:58 AM
  3. High Oil Temps went into Limp Mode
    By alank in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Mechanical
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 03-09-2016, 11:00 AM
  4. HELP!! Truck in limp mode P0047 code
    By 04rcode in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Mechanical
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 11-30-2015, 09:33 PM
  5. Ecodiesel off roading. Goes into limp mode
    By John1990 in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 03-23-2015, 12:14 PM