Will truck go into limp mode after DEF warning? - Page 3

Will truck go into limp mode after DEF warning?

This is a discussion on Will truck go into limp mode after DEF warning? within the RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion forums, part of the RAM 1500 EcoDiesel Forum category; Originally Posted by biodiesel How did you get the truck to restart? Did you use the crossover wire? Originally Posted by Kazimodo I see Ziggy ...

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 22 of 22
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Will truck go into limp mode after DEF warning?

  1. #21
    RAM Ninja DrivingZiggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Lafayette, LA, USA
    Posts
    2,121
    Member #
    1513
    Vehicle
    2015 Big Horn EcoDiesel
    Liked
    1028 times
    Quote Originally Posted by biodiesel View Post
    How did you get the truck to restart? Did you use the crossover wire?
    Quote Originally Posted by Kazimodo View Post
    I see Ziggy is " offline " right now , he states he got the message because he ran out of DEF ,
    not the code you mentioned , after refilling with DEF, the truck did not start normally right away , he had to wait a little
    for float to move he believes , then it started with the normal key or button method .
    You will not have that luxury , the dealer should know what to do , if not you can show them ,
    in another thread a member showed the jumper method to his tech who did not know about it ,
    the tech was glad to learn this method..
    Yes, upon re-reading my post I must apologize for not being more clear. I ran the truck out of DEF and drove to the store. Shut the truck off and it would not restart. Went into the store and bought some DEF. Put the DEF into the tank. Attempted re-start and was unsuccessful for a couple of minutes. Then the truck started after waiting a couple of minutes.

    So I'm guessing that it takes a minute or two for the truck to reset itself after you get this warning/shut down.
    biodiesel likes this.

  2. #22
    RAM Bronze Member Kazimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Montreal Quebec Canada
    Posts
    2,708
    Member #
    6985
    Vehicle
    2015 Big Horn CC 5.7' 3.55
    Liked
    1260 times
    Maybe it needs 3 start cycles like some other stuff , after the fault seems erased ,
    before going away and resume normal operations .

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. 0 miles and no start--use jumper wire--will it go into limp home mode??
    By pizza442 in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-22-2019, 02:18 PM
  2. 2017 EcoDiesel goes into Limp Home at 472 miles "Warning, service electronic throttle
    By PilotDave in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-05-2018, 10:58 AM
  3. High Oil Temps went into Limp Mode
    By alank in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Mechanical
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 03-09-2016, 11:00 AM
  4. HELP!! Truck in limp mode P0047 code
    By 04rcode in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Mechanical
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 11-30-2015, 09:33 PM
  5. Ecodiesel off roading. Goes into limp mode
    By John1990 in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 03-23-2015, 12:14 PM