AEM/GDE response??

AEM/GDE response??

This is a discussion on AEM/GDE response?? within the RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion forums, part of the RAM 1500 EcoDiesel Forum category; Since I had an oil temp sensor fail, I had my 2015 scheduled for service work. While waiting I received my AEM approval notice from ...

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 45
Like Tree37Likes

Thread: AEM/GDE response??

  1. #1
    RAM Jr Member Idbound's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    61
    Member #
    17570
    Liked
    12 times

    AEM/GDE response??

    Since I had an oil temp sensor fail, I had my 2015 scheduled for service work. While waiting I received my AEM approval notice from FCA so had them install the new software. Didn't take more than 100 yards to realize that they did indeed overwrite my GDE tune. What i am confused about is the phone message at GDE that says that if you are calling about the AEM issue, you should "wait two months before proceeding". Yes I know I could call back and try to get someone to answer but was hoping someone hear knew what that means. Wait two months before doing the AEM update or, wait two months before you get a GDE retune. Let's hear your thoughts??

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Crash68's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,473
    Member #
    6698
    Vehicle
    2015 EcoD Outdoorsman CC 6.5' 4X4 3.92
    Liked
    2235 times
    I think GDE said to wait two months before getting the AEM. That will give GDE time to make sure their tune will work with the AEM update. Then you'll be able to send in your ECM to be updated right away.

  3. #3
    RAM Regular RudolfDiesel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    334
    Member #
    2693
    Vehicle
    2014 Ecodiesel Limited Crew Cab
    Liked
    192 times
    From what it appears, the answer is both. You need to give GDE the necessary time to adapt/adjust their tune(s) to the new FCA ecodiesel tune, which is estmated at a couple of months. If you move ahead and get the AEM tune done by FCA, you will then need to wait for GDE to get their tune(s) stable prior to installing them on ecodiesels.

  4. Remove Advertisements
    Ram1500Diesel.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    RAM Professional patriot07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    688
    Member #
    9343
    Vehicle
    2016 CC 4x2
    Liked
    268 times
    Has anyone heard if GDE will charge folks to update the tune to the post-AEM version, if there are any changes needed?

  6. #5
    RAM Guru Brokedownbutgood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Hermiston, Oregon
    Posts
    1,164
    Member #
    15458
    Vehicle
    2015 Ram 1500
    Liked
    490 times
    Quote Originally Posted by patriot07 View Post
    Has anyone heard if GDE will charge folks to update the tune to the post-AEM version, if there are any changes needed?
    Looks like the post aem ecm tuning is ready, not sure on the tcm.

    https://greendieselengineering.com/E...te/2_58.action
    Last edited by Brokedownbutgood; 05-14-2019 at 07:55 PM.
    Captainmal likes this.

  7. #6
    RAM Jr Member Idbound's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    61
    Member #
    17570
    Liked
    12 times
    Well poop! I guess I will get my $3K two months sooner.

  8. #7
    RAM Professional patriot07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    688
    Member #
    9343
    Vehicle
    2016 CC 4x2
    Liked
    268 times
    So you have to pay $50 plus shipping just to keep using your tune? That sucks.

  9. #8
    RAM Jr Member Steve49's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Show Low, AZ
    Posts
    85
    Member #
    14281
    Vehicle
    2014 Ram ED Crew Cab Big Horn
    Liked
    61 times
    Why should they do it for free, this isn't a screw up on their part!

  10. #9
    RAM Bronze Member Bounty Hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Southern IL
    Posts
    3,186
    Member #
    7966
    Vehicle
    2016 Laramie
    Liked
    1408 times
    Quote Originally Posted by patriot07 View Post
    So you have to pay $50 plus shipping just to keep using your tune? That sucks.
    Why does that suck? That's always been their protocol anytime their tune is overwritten.

    You just felling into $3000 for getting your ECM updated and you're gonna pout about $50? Really?
    JimboAnz and Captainmal like this.
    2016 Laramie CC 6'4", Delmonico Red, GDE Hot tune and Trans tune, External oil cooler, PPE Trans pan

  11. #10
    RAM Ninja Kazimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Montreal Quebec Canada
    Posts
    2,444
    Member #
    6985
    Vehicle
    2015 Big Horn CC 5.7' 3.55
    Liked
    1113 times
    Patriot07 ,If you would have kept your stock ECM , no $50 plus shipping , much less expensive , but .........
    now you get latest version of the tune , with the changed parameters here and there in the tune to make it the hot tune.

    for those fearing down time , remember ;
    - you contact GDE , ask for a new updated ECM to be shipped to you ,
    -you receive new ECM , install in your truck , and send back your previous ECM , no down time
    - YES of course GDE will charge you +/- $650 for the core , but it will be refunded when they get it back -NO DOWN TIME -
    I totally understand the need for a core charge , you never know if some wise guy will decide to keep the ECM
    and he might change his mind and decide to keep it , why not , just expensive to pay $650 when you can get it for less.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Aem & gde
    By brianw0048 in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-14-2019, 01:41 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-09-2017, 08:32 PM
  3. BREATHE W/ Upgraded Intakes! ~AEM~AFE~Banks Power~Bully Dog~Corsa~Injen~K&N~Volant!~
    By Aristocrat Autosport in forum Aristocrat Autosport
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-09-2017, 08:32 PM
  4. Has anyone tried AEM dry flow air filters?
    By DRobs in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Maintenance
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-23-2016, 06:50 PM
  5. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-14-2015, 06:44 PM