Service Throttle Position Sensor

Service Throttle Position Sensor

This is a discussion on Service Throttle Position Sensor within the RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion forums, part of the RAM 1500 EcoDiesel Forum category; Well, after 10k miles care free owning the truck (purchased with 24k, now has 33287), I’ve gotten the dreaded Service Electronic Throttle Control code. I ...

Results 1 to 8 of 8
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Kazimodo
  • 1 Post By dakohrs21

Thread: Service Throttle Position Sensor

  1. #1
    RAM Rookie dakohrs21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    28
    Member #
    37970
    Liked
    11 times
    Well, after 10k miles care free owning the truck (purchased with 24k, now has 33287), I’ve gotten the dreaded Service Electronic Throttle Control code. I was doing some light hauling and towing helping my brother clean out his new house. Truck runs good, just the code. I’ll schedule an appointment ASAP to have it looked at, and will post my exact experience and results to add to the pool.

    I’ve heard anything from cracked boost pipes to bad fuel to loose connectors. I’m eager to see what is the cause.

    Regards,

    Dave
    Last edited by dakohrs21; Yesterday at 04:36 PM. Reason: Wrong code

  2. #2
    RAM Ninja Kazimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Montreal Quebec Canada
    Posts
    2,424
    Member #
    6985
    Vehicle
    2015 Big Horn CC 5.7' 3.55
    Liked
    1109 times
    It can be many different things , you need to pull the code associated
    with that dash display , the code will pinpoint the source of the trouble .
    ..
    did you touch both pedal at the same time for a second ??
    Captainmal likes this.

  3. #3
    RAM Rookie dakohrs21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    28
    Member #
    37970
    Liked
    11 times
    Was backing a trailer on a steep grade, so possibly for a moment. Can’t recall exactly. Are our trucks really that finicky?

  4. Remove Advertisements
    Ram1500Diesel.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    RAM Diamond Member Captainmal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Sundance (Wimauma), Florida
    Posts
    11,448
    Member #
    185
    Vehicle
    '14 Ram 1500 Ecodiesel quad cab 4 x 4
    Liked
    6252 times
    Yes. At least on that issue of using both gas and brake at the same time.
    If you wrestle with a pig you'll both get dirty and the pig loves it. .

  6. #5
    RAM Rookie dakohrs21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    28
    Member #
    37970
    Liked
    11 times
    Well, after cleaning the MAP sensor and EGR diffuser, CEL still shows. I have an appointment for Thursday, so hopefully I get some answers then.

    Any idea if the GDE tune fixes this issue?

  7. #6
    RAM Diamond Member Captainmal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Sundance (Wimauma), Florida
    Posts
    11,448
    Member #
    185
    Vehicle
    '14 Ram 1500 Ecodiesel quad cab 4 x 4
    Liked
    6252 times
    Find out what the code and exact issue is first. Then pose the results to GDE.

    Report back with the information.
    Last edited by Captainmal; Today at 09:48 AM.
    If you wrestle with a pig you'll both get dirty and the pig loves it. .

  8. #7
    RAM Rookie dakohrs21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    28
    Member #
    37970
    Liked
    11 times
    Update: exact code is P0299 turbo/supercharger Underboost. I cleaned the map sensor and egr diffuser yesterday, assuming this would be the code since they’re so common. Code hasn’t cleared itself, and I’d rather not clear it with the reader until Thursday when the dealership can find out exactly what happened.

    From my browsing, it seems that the core cause was a software issue.

    Dave
    Captainmal likes this.

  9. #8
    RAM Ninja DrivingZiggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Lafayette, LA, USA
    Posts
    2,063
    Member #
    1513
    Vehicle
    2015 Big Horn EcoDiesel
    Liked
    988 times
    Quote Originally Posted by dakohrs21 View Post
    I’ve heard anything from cracked boost pipes to bad fuel to loose connectors.
    Don't forget "bad battery."

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Bad crank position sensor AND leaking EGR cooler
    By Shwingblade in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-30-2018, 04:01 PM
  2. 14 Ram 1500 Throttle Pedal Position Sensor
    By Brokedown in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Electrical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-27-2018, 03:09 PM
  3. 14 Ram throttle pedal position sensor
    By Brokedown in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-25-2018, 02:32 PM
  4. Crank position sensor
    By pastime in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Mechanical
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-22-2017, 04:03 PM
  5. 02e8 airflow position sensor code
    By Itzweeks89 in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-09-2017, 03:22 PM