Max GCWR and SAE J2807

This is a discussion on Max GCWR and SAE J2807 within the RAM 1500 Diesel Towing & Hauling forums, part of the RAM 1500 EcoDiesel Forum category; There is always a lot of discussion on this forum related to how much the EcoD can tow? What is the max trailer weight? Is ...

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By VernDiesel

Thread: Max GCWR and SAE J2807

Member #
    Vehicle
    2017 Ram 1500 ED 3.55 crew cab 4x4 Big Horn
    Liked
    9 times

Post Max GCWR and SAE J2807

There is always a lot of discussion on this forum related to how much the EcoD can tow? What is the max trailer weight? Is the truck capable? Is the truck "Safe"? etc. I am not a towing professional or an expert so I am always interested in what the guidance charts indicate and what standards were used to create the chart. I have attached the SAE J2807 document with the types of tests that were completed to validate performance at the manufacturer published GCWR.

I hope this a resource to support many of the experiences given on the forum.

*****Disclaimer **** I do not advocate towing at or beyond the GAWR, GCWR, or GVWR.

I do advocate for having technical knowledge to pair with experience (mine and others).

From my humble point of view.

The EcoD platform (Engine/Chassis) is capable of meeting all of the SAE J2807 tests for towing up to the manufacturer provided GCWR and therefore the TRUCK is SAFE up to listed GCWR (while keeping GAWR/GVWR within spec). Many of the tests listed are more stringent than the conditions I would normally tow my rig. Although it is nice to see that I should be able tow a GCWR of 13,750 lbs from Bull Head City, AZ to the Union Peak Pass in the summer (ambient air temps >100 F) and not drop below 40 mph. I can even keep my A/C blowing at max cool.

What is not "SAFE" about towing at or above the GCWR?
    1. Weight/Balance of the tow vehicle/trailer WD system (search the forum for the sage advice on this topic @ VernD and others)