Is GDE tune has been updated/changed over the years?

Is GDE tune has been updated/changed over the years?

This is a discussion on Is GDE tune has been updated/changed over the years? within the RAM 1500 Diesel Tuning forums, part of the RAM 1500 Diesel Garage - RAM 1500 Diesel Mechanics Corner category; I just completed AEM on my stock ECM, and the spare ECM with GDE tune is sitting on the shelf. 1st of all, this updated ...

Results 1 to 7 of 7
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Bounty Hunter

Thread: Is GDE tune has been updated/changed over the years?

  1. #1
    RAM Jr Member diesel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    97
    Member #
    9012
    Vehicle
    2016 Laramie CC/6.4 Granite Crystal
    Liked
    10 times

    Is GDE tune has been updated/changed over the years?

    I just completed AEM on my stock ECM, and the spare ECM with GDE tune is sitting on the shelf.
    1st of all, this updated software sucks, truck is definitely slower, almost no power below 1,500 rpms.
    So, I'm wondering if there's a "newer version of GDE tune" since I purchased mine back in August of 2016?
    I tried calling GDE twice and only got to voicemail...
    Basically my question is: should I send my spare ECM with GDE tune for an update, or there's no difference since AEM fix and I should just swap it back in and continue enjoying benefits of the tune?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Mopar73340's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2,481
    Member #
    4232
    Vehicle
    2015 Ram 3D 4x4 QC Outdoorsman
    Liked
    882 times
    There have been updates to the tune. The way I understand it GDE takes the latest FCA tune as it has been updated periodically by FCA and works their magic on it.
    2015 3D 4x4 QC Outdoorsman 3.55, 20" rims, Trailer Brake Control, Comfort Group, Luxury Group, Premium Cloth Bucket Seats, 8.4A Premium Sound (Upgrade JBL Speakers), Backup Camera, Extang Trifecta Tonneau, Bedrug Bed Mat, DeeZee Tailgate Assist, Dura Flap Splash Guards, EGR Ventvisors, Ionic Gladiator Running Boards, Tinted windows.

  3. #3
    RAM Bronze Member Bounty Hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Southern IL
    Posts
    3,495
    Member #
    7966
    Vehicle
    2016 Laramie
    Liked
    1614 times
    They've likely updated it since then, but they would know for sure. Keep trying to reach them.

    It's important to get your tuned ECM updated because it'll have the post-AEM part number. Any return visits to the dealer will show the correct part number and not trigger them to want to update it.
    2016 Laramie CC 6'4", Delmonico Red, GDE Hot tune and Trans tune, External oil cooler, PPE Trans pan

  4. Remove Advertisements
    Ram1500Diesel.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    RAM Jr Member diesel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    97
    Member #
    9012
    Vehicle
    2016 Laramie CC/6.4 Granite Crystal
    Liked
    10 times
    I have 2 ECMs
    Original one got AEM update and has a label now...
    The second ECM with GDE tune on it has never been to a dealer for obvious reasons, so I don't think there is a way for me to do an AEM update for it since dealer already did my truck and has it in the system.
    Am I stuck with an old GDE tune forever now ?

  6. #5
    Super Moderator Mopar73340's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2,481
    Member #
    4232
    Vehicle
    2015 Ram 3D 4x4 QC Outdoorsman
    Liked
    882 times
    Quote Originally Posted by diesel View Post
    I have 2 ECMs
    Original one got AEM update and has a label now...
    The second ECM with GDE tune on it has never been to a dealer for obvious reasons, so I don't think there is a way for me to do an AEM update for it since dealer already did my truck and has it in the system.
    Am I stuck with an old GDE tune forever now ?

    Call or email GDE and ask the experts.
    2015 3D 4x4 QC Outdoorsman 3.55, 20" rims, Trailer Brake Control, Comfort Group, Luxury Group, Premium Cloth Bucket Seats, 8.4A Premium Sound (Upgrade JBL Speakers), Backup Camera, Extang Trifecta Tonneau, Bedrug Bed Mat, DeeZee Tailgate Assist, Dura Flap Splash Guards, EGR Ventvisors, Ionic Gladiator Running Boards, Tinted windows.

  7. #6
    RAM Bronze Member Bounty Hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Southern IL
    Posts
    3,495
    Member #
    7966
    Vehicle
    2016 Laramie
    Liked
    1614 times
    Quote Originally Posted by diesel View Post
    I have 2 ECMs
    Original one got AEM update and has a label now...
    The second ECM with GDE tune on it has never been to a dealer for obvious reasons, so I don't think there is a way for me to do an AEM update for it since dealer already did my truck and has it in the system.
    Am I stuck with an old GDE tune forever now ?
    No, They will update it for you for $50. It would have any performance upgrades they've done since your last tune and it will show a post-AEM part number for the tune.
    Captainmal likes this.
    2016 Laramie CC 6'4", Delmonico Red, GDE Hot tune and Trans tune, External oil cooler, PPE Trans pan

  8. #7
    RAM Diamond Member Captainmal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Sundance (Wimauma), Florida
    Posts
    11,988
    Member #
    185
    Vehicle
    '14 Ram 1500 Ecodiesel quad cab 4 x 4
    Liked
    6627 times
    Only thing different on my new GDE from the old one before the AEM was I somehow lost my turbo braking. If there is a difference in operation it is not something I could detect.

    Yes, contact GDE but in the meantime stop running on that AEM dirty tune and get you old GDE back in. NOW.
    If you wrestle with a pig you'll both get dirty and the pig loves it. .

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •