Tire Air Pressure sonsor ?

Tire Air Pressure sonsor ?

This is a discussion on Tire Air Pressure sonsor ? within the RAM 1500 Diesel Wheels and Tires forums, part of the RAM 1500 Diesel Appearance - RAM 1500 Diesel Mod Corner category; If I switch to a tire that has a lower inflation pressure, will I need to purchase new pressure sensors that reflect the new tire's ...

Results 1 to 4 of 4
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Patroller8D

Thread: Tire Air Pressure sonsor ?

  1. #1
    RAM Regular Lucky Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Mid Michigan
    Posts
    358
    Member #
    6384
    Liked
    229 times

    Tire Air Pressure sonsor ?

    If I switch to a tire that has a lower inflation pressure, will I need to purchase new pressure sensors that reflect the new tire's pressure?

    My current tires are load range E and have a max pressure of 80 psi. The low pressure warning comes on at 45-48 psi.
    I'm thinking about some tires with a lower load range and they will have a lower max pressure, and will likely be inflated at less than 45psi.



  2. #2
    Super Moderator Patroller8D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Simcoe County Ontario
    Posts
    664
    Member #
    7795
    Vehicle
    2016 EcoD Quadcab 4x4
    Liked
    414 times
    You will need new TPS's for the load range of the tires you're contemplating. I bought mine at the dealer for the winter rims, cheaper than any other place I tried.
    Lucky Dog likes this.

  3. #3
    RAM Regular Lucky Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Mid Michigan
    Posts
    358
    Member #
    6384
    Liked
    229 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Patroller8D View Post
    You will need new TPS's for the load range of the tires you're contemplating. I bought mine at the dealer for the winter rims, cheaper than any other place I tried.
    Thanks.



  4. Remove Advertisements
    Ram1500Diesel.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Lou
    Lou is online now
    RAM Regular Lou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Greenwich, NY
    Posts
    263
    Member #
    6723
    Vehicle
    2015 RAM 1500 ecodiesel
    Liked
    109 times
    I don't believe that the tpms sensors will effect the pressure at when the warning light comes on.
    If your system indicated the actual tire pressure, the warning alarm point is programed into your vehicle.
    It is not a function of the sensor.
    I have seen where some people have been able to adjust the warning point using software programing.

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Tire air pressure ?
    By RB33 in forum Ram 2500 General Discussion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 02-17-2017, 06:39 AM
  2. Tire air pressure-Factory Recommendation
    By howie12 in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Wheels and Tires
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-28-2014, 10:20 PM
  3. Tire Pressure Monitor sensor problem
    By Ron4969 in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Wheels and Tires
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-03-2014, 06:03 PM
  4. Tire pressure light
    By B-g-K in forum RAM 1500 Diesel General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-09-2014, 06:59 PM
  5. TPMS - Tire Pressure Monitoring
    By sheepdogtrail in forum RAM 1500 Diesel Wheels and Tires
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-25-2014, 08:57 PM