RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finally getting to make my 3D work with some hauling of garden supplies ;). Done 2 loads like this of composted mulch for the veg garden, and plan on doing a few more and numerous loads of dirt. I searched the 'net for some idea of how much dirt/mulch weighs but found opinions vary widely. What do you guys think, is this under the 1,270lb max payload? Truck drove fine with the load, but squatted a bit and I just want to make sure I'm not over doing it. Read end looks fine after I shovel all that out.
20160427_211545457_iOS_zpspnzw4w6e.jpg
20160427_211538920_iOS_zpscycxrqca.jpg

Also, perhaps this is a dumb question, but I'm new to hauling dirt around....any harm in my tail gate hinges and latches filling up with dirt (which they did)? I just plan on taking a shop vac/pressure washer to them after all the loads, but considered trying to cover them to prevent dirt getting in.

I read in another thread something about a payload sensor...is there something that can be read from the truck to tell how much was carried?

·
Registered
3,486 Posts
Load sensors are on the air suspension trucks , and I bent a tail gate one time with a load of dry wall and one of my friends straightened it out by slamming it closed to push it back in , and it was bent very bad . Just be careful about dirt or mulch in your bed and having it get rained on .

·
Read Only
14 Posts
According to my Pocket Ref (everyone should have one of these) "Earth, Moist, Excavated" is 2430 LBS/CY. It doesn't have "mulch" listed, but that seems to be a close description.

there's also (in LBS/CY):
earth, dense - 3375
earth, fullers, raw - 1134
earth, loam, dry, excavated - 2106
earth, packed - 2565
earth, soft loose mud - 2916
earth, wet excavated - 2700

·
Registered
12 Posts