RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi im new to the ecodiesel world and havent had much time to search around and learn about them!

So heres my problem at the moment

As i was driving tonight everything seemed to be running fine and felt normal, as i turned on my road i noticed a could hear my fan running which isnt normal as it doesnt kick on with the temps im normally running. as i pulled into the drive way i noticed i could smell either coolant or tranny fluid. I parked and got underneath it and the entire underneath of the truck is covered in red trans fluid, the only leak i could find looks like it came straight from the transmisson pan. Id like to know if anyone has had this issue or why it would happen the truck is new to me and has 48000 miles on it and i have not had to do any maintenance to it yet aside from changing the oil when i got it 2 months ago.

PLEASE HELP!!! I will be heading to the shop in the morning to hopefully get answers i am just trying to prepare myself for whats to come!

Thanks guys and gals!

·
Administrator
9,738 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Sorry to hear. I didn't think the trans fluid was red??? Let us know what you find out. Thanks

·
Premium Member
5,299 Posts
Stock trans fluid is not red.

Let us know what the shop finds.

·
Registered
4,680 Posts
did it look anything like these pictures ????
another member had that , it was the hard line passing under the intake manifold bringing coolant to the turbo .
check the level in your coolant bottle , you are probably down , it stops at +/- an inch from the bottom of the bottle
but keeps going down in engine and rad , that would explain why you heard the fan come on .
Important that you fill the bottle before you ruin the water pump or bust a head gasket .
explained in first post in here : https://www.ram1500diesel.com/forum/ram-1500-diesel-maintenance/49297-ram-ed-cooling-systems.html

Attachments

·
Registered
3 Posts