RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I am new to the ecodiesel, but I specifically bought it with MPG in mind. I bought my 2016 truck used with 146K miles on it. I have been driving it for 2 months (not aggressively), but I was not able to get my average MPG above 17.5 MPG! It was such a disappointment... I am planning to change fuel and air filter to see if it improves, but I am afraid there is a bigger problem.

I did have a check engine light come on during a long trip (which had something to do with fuel injectors), but after I added a Fuel Injector Cleaner, the check engine light turned off.

Any suggestions? What do I check for?
THANK YOU!

·
Registered
5,134 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Do you have stock size and rated tires on the truck? Any lift or level kit?

Reactions: 97hmcs

·
Registered
2,587 Posts
Few simple things...

1) Where are you? Whats the ambient temps?
2) What kind of driving? City? Highway? Mix?
3) What kind of tires?
4) What was the check engine light code? Do you know?

Don't start throwing parts or money yet. Lets see where you are on the above.

I typically get about 20 - 21 avg for my local driving. this winter - w my snow tires - i am getting 16.2.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Hello! I am new to the ecodiesel, but I specifically bought it with MPG in mind. I bought my 2016 truck used with 146K miles on it. I have been driving it for 2 months (not aggressively), but I was not able to get my average MPG above 17.5 MPG! It was such a disappointment... I am planning to change fuel and air filter to see if it improves, but I am afraid there is a bigger problem.

I did have a check engine light come on during a long trip (which had something to do with fuel injectors), but after I added a Fuel Injector Cleaner, the check engine light turned off.

Any suggestions? What do I check for?
THANK YOU!
I would start with removing your MAF sensor and cleaning it. Is your truck deleted?

·