RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, sad to say I'm joining the one of what looks like many who have experienced engine failures with their EcoDiesel trucks. I purchased mine used (from a Dodge dealership), had 68000km on it at the time of purchase. I've owned the truck for two years and at 129000km I now need a new engine. Not sure exactly how or why, so maybe I could get some insight here. I was driving home when I got an alert on the dash saying oil pressure was low. I checked the oil pressure gauge and it was bottomed out. The engine turned off shortly after. I pulled over, checked under the truck to see if anything was leaking and could not find anything. Couldn't see anything out of the ordinary under the hood, mind you I'm no mechanic and don't know a whole lot about engines and the like. I started the truck back up, the oil pressure gauge returned to normal and there didn't seem to be anything else out of the ordinary. No message on the dash, no check engine light, everything seemed normal. Chalked it up to maybe the electrical glitching out. I put it in drive and after about 200-300m I started hearing a knocking coming from the engine. Pulled over again and checked under the hood again, and the knocking just seemed to get worse. Shut it off and got it towed back to my place. I brought it to a local diesel repair shop where they told me it needed a new engine, and said it was likely related to needing a new EGR valve, which I had an outstanding recall for (I was not made aware of this at the time of purchase) and that it should be covered by Dodge, even being 30k km past warranty. I took it to the nearest Ram dealership and they told me it had nothing to do with EGR valve, and that the connecting rods were blown. I found it odd that they had complete different opinion so I took it to a different dealership and they confirmed what the previous had said.