RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking at a new 2020 Limited 1500 ED. Sticker price is $71K and they have it listed for $57K. What do you guys think I should offer since the truck is already so heavily discounted?
I'm a NOOB here!
UncaBuddha

·
Registered
4,801 Posts
Before making an offer, you need to understand if the $57,000 price does or does not include any rebates currently on offer. If it doesn't include rebates that seems like a good price. Remember rebates should be thought of as FCA reducing the price and actual markdown from the sticker price thought of as dealer reducing their markup. Not counting rebates, the dealer invoice price minus 2% is about as low as I have seen a dealer go. Ask them to show you the dealer invoice. In the past you could also see the dealer invoice on Edmunds.com. Try that too.

If you are trading in something make sure they don't get the reduction back by reducing what they give on your tradein. Everything I read nowadays says dealers are hungry for used cars so used prices are going up.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Before making an offer, you need to understand if the $57,000 price does or does not include any rebates currently on offer. If it doesn't include rebates that seems like a good price. Remember rebates should be thought of as FCA reducing the price and actual markdown from the sticker price thought of as dealer reducing their markup. Not counting rebates, the dealer invoice price minus 2% is about as low as I have seen a dealer go. Ask them to show you the dealer invoice. In the past you could also see the dealer invoice on Edmunds.com. Try that too.

If you are trading in something make sure they don't get the reduction back by reducing what they give on your tradein. Everything I read nowadays says dealers are hungry for used cars so used prices are going up.