RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
568 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had the AEM done. It's been years since I was an aggressive driver. My current ED has had the throttle wide open on just one occasion, during an intake icing event that resulted in a derated turbo and a CEL. I learned then that part throttle and working with the load would overcome the derated turbo and allow better engine operation.

My truck has always had cold lag....always. Since the AEM update it is not better. There it is ... I have it and it's the same is it has always been.

I have always driven by rolling in on the throttle. Even cold, if I tap the throttle to get the engine moving, then roll in on the throttle as load builds, I can get into traffic and stay ahead of it with no trouble. Climbing hills ... tap it and then back off .... the engine will build the rpm and stay there if as long as I am not trying to mash the pedal down thru' the floorboards.

I have not found that this diesel engine runs like my gassers ... the gassers like lots of air and lots of fuel right off idle. They love big fat accelerator pumps and throttle valve plates parallel to the air flow. This truck doesn't. It likes to build and maintain load steadily.

For those who wonder about city driving ... yes, I live in the boonies, but I regularly visit my Mom in a city of about a million people with eight lane freeways and the usual on/off ramps etc ..... the truck runs fine, as long as I work with the load and don't try to bully it by tramping the pedal down.

That's my experience .... yours may vary.

·
Registered
74 Posts
I agree. Roll in the throttle and it will go on demand hot or cold.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Same experience here. Since new, flooring it does nothing. It just stares at you for a second then goes.

I was taught to drive smoothly. Roll on the throttle, brake gently, set the vehicle before you go into a corner and gently accelerate out. Everything smooth.