RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone planning on installing aftermarket air bags to help level out the truck when towing? I've had a lot of buddy recommend the Air Lift setup.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Gotcha. The one thing I see is that added options and more complex suspensions could lead to more issues down the road. So sometimes it's worth the peace of mind to have something that is proven :)

Attachments

·
Registered
1,145 Posts
A shop I know recommends Hellwig air suspension. I have no experience with the product, though. I plan to get the Ram 4-corner air suspension which adds $1595 and 34 pounds to a Laramie.

·
Registered
1,145 Posts
Gotcha. The one thing I see is that added options and more complex suspensions could lead to more issues down the road. So sometimes it's worth the peace of mind to have something that is proven :)
The 4-corner air suspension is standard on the Laramie Limited, an option on all other models. It's a well-tested system that has been used on the 2013 Grand Cherokee and Ram 1500, and it should run trouble-free for typical ownership (5 to 7 years) but after that some parts are likely to wear out. Also, it does add complexity which could result in unexpected and expensive problems, so an extended warranty is worth considering. I test drove a 2013 Ram with air suspension and liked what it offers, so I plan to get it.

Attachments

·
Registered
42 Posts
I'm actually looking at getting the rear air suspension on the 2500. Just haven't figured out if I want to wait until February to get one or not :)

·
Registered
1,145 Posts
The nice part about buying the factory air suspension new is that it will be covered under warranty :)
If I understand the Ram warranty, suspension is covered for 3 years or 36k miles. Beyond that an extended warranty is worth considering.

·
Registered
42 Posts