RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2017 Ecodiesel Laramie
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey All,

I know, I know....this has probably been beaten to death, but I wanted to check my specific circumstances as I am fairly new to towing. I am going on a turkey hunt this weekend and taking 3 of my buddies with me along with my trailer, so a little concerned about payload. So, I weighed my truck, then hooked up the trailer and weighed again. Below are the results:

Steer Axle: 3720
Drive Axle: 2920
Trailer Axle: 0
Gross: 6,640

Steer Axle: 3600
Drive Axle: 3480
Trailer Axle: 4220
Gross 11,300

This was with two of us in the truck, so I have two more guys (say ~200 lbs each) to add to the cab. I assume, the weight will be split evenly across the two axles, so only 200 lbs more on the steer axle keeping me under the 3900 lb rating? If we put all of our gear in the trailer above the trailer axle, do you think we will be ok? I also have a topper on right now that probably weighs around 150-200 lbs (total guess, never lifted it), I would rather not take it off if I don't have to....do I need to? Lastly, my Anderson hitch had the trailer a little less than flat, and I couldn't adjust because one side was jammed and I didn't have a wrench. The trailer tongue actually needs to come down a little further, which will take more weight off the front? I calculated the hitch weight at 440 or about 10.4%, am I calculating this correctly? Assume we add another 500 lbs of gear/food/beer to the trailer, that would add another 50 lbs to the truck which should be inconsequential?

Sorry, I know this is a lot of questions, any help is greatly appreciated!

·
Super Moderator
3,235 Posts
Safety & stability wise you will be fine. Some would point out that you may be slightly over your GVWR IE over Mfgr maximum spec. This could be a legality issue in some jurisdictions but you would really be splitting hairs. I’d leave the topper.