RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everybody! Im new to the form, but been lurking for a few months reading and doing lots of learning. First I must say this form has really educated me on this truck and its pro's and cons. I'm on the verge of buying a 2016 ED (did my first test drive yesterday and just LOVE the truck). After doing all the reading on the forum I've decided a GDE tune is going to be my very first upgrade, so with that in mind, is there an axel ratio that's best for this tune? During my test drive I drove the 3.92 - noticed the truck turned about 2k RPM at 75 - and seemed like the tranny wanted to keep the RPM right around this 2k RPM range in each gear... (is this the same on the 3.55?) this made me wonder is this the best RPM with the GDE tune too? Will the 3.55 drop that RPM significantly and does a few hundred RPM really matter? I don't tow much - maybe 8-10 times a year and all my trailers (3 place snowmobile and very large pop-up trailer) all around 4,000 lbs loaded. Most towing trips are 3-6 hour drives, so not short trips, but all flat land driving. I know the axle ratio has been discussed in depth with each having their own application and opinion for the 3.55 vs the 3.92, but I guess I'm just wondering if one really optimizes the GDE tune better than the other given where the power curve is? Or am I completely over analyzing this and it's just a non-issue? For me I would really prefer the 3.55 but don't want to make the wrong decision. This will be the most I've ever spent on a vehicle in my life - so don't want any regrets:) Thanks for your input!

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
If you're driving 75 you'll see better MPGs with the 3.55. I drive 78 everyday to work and it's mostly rolling hills. I average about 23 MPG. I cruise in 8th and RPMs are about 1800 rpms. The 3.92 rear end will take a decent MPG hit at those speeds because of the increased RPMs.