RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner
41 - 60 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts


Out of a 2014


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thank you so much! I wonder if the 2016 tank is the same on top. Does that piece on the smaller looking vent just slide off? Is it all that goes on there or is there also a hose? I’m wondering if mine was put back on. What does it look like after you slide it off?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
401 Posts
Thank you so much! I wonder if the 2016 tank is the same on top. Does that piece on the smaller looking vent just slide off? Is it all that goes on there or is there also a hose? I’m wondering if mine was put back on. What does it look like after you slide it off?
I would guess they are the same on top. The vent is white, there is nothing else connected to it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
I would guess they are the same on top. The vent is white, there is nothing else connected to it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ok. Thanks again! Looking at the photo of the tank top,I’m wondering how hard it would be to try to see it or feel for it while the tank is mounted on my truck. I can’t check it now because it’s a blizzard!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
That came off really easy, I could see how you lost it!




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ok
That came off really easy, I could see how you lost it!




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ok tjkoen01, I sent this photo to my friend and he said he did put it back on. He didn’t understand what I was referring to before. Thanks again for the photo!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,680 Posts
could the location of the little " VENT " be displayed in this image I got from another thread ??
at the TOP of image , small white part at an angle , ( not in circle ) on the top view of the DEF tank ,
( most part of image taken by new tank and bottom view ) .
84665
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
297 Posts
I wonder what causes the level sensor to go bad? If we knew, there might be a way to help reduce the failure. For example, keeping the tank full might be better? It just seems odd that some are failing and others are not.
When I bought my eco, I kept the tank full at all times. You must realize that if this stuff dries, it leaves behind crystals. If you keep it full, it tends to not form any deposits. The sensor probably has a moving part that is frozen up by said crystals. I bet flushing it with warm water may free it up.

I think it's disgusting that the EPA mandates such strict emissions, yet doesn't mandate that the components be serviceable. $2000 for a def tank or DPF filter is obsurd. All these sensors and pumps and even the DPF filter should be removeable and serviceable. RAM will get hit hard for this as all US trucks WILL have a def tank failure and they'll have to replace the whole unit vs a $25 sensor. They did this on purpose to suck more money from the buyers. Glad they'll get burned by this, at least with the 2014-2018 eco's. They need to stop doing this nonsense.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
401 Posts
When I bought my eco, I kept the tank full at all times. You must realize that if this stuff dries, it leaves behind crystals. If you keep it full, it tends to not form any deposits. The sensor probably has a moving part that is frozen up by said crystals. I bet flushing it with warm water may free it up.
The level sensor has no moving parts as in a float or arm, it is ultrasonic. It is at the bottom of the tank so unless you run it empty, there is virtually no way for a crystals to form on the sensor.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
My check engine light did go out. All by itself. You were right! I have one more dumb question. Is there a plastic piece that goes on a vent I believe that is easily removed?
I think I remember my friend removing one when we were wrestling around the tank to dump it. I don’t remember if we reinstalled it for sure. He looked around and didn’t find one in his garage.
Did you have to use a AlfaOBD software and a compatible OBD interface to get the new tank/level gauge to work properly??? or did you do the swap and everything worked.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
401 Posts
Did you have to use a AlfaOBD software and a compatible OBD interface to get the new tank/level gauge to work properly??? or did you do the swap and everything worked.
I just swapped the tank and filled it up, no resets needed.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
I just swapped the tank and filled it up, no resets needed.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I just swapped the tank and filled it up, no resets needed.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks
41 - 58 of 58 Posts
Prev


S
Sttail59
Registered

Joined Dec 16, 2019
14 Posts
#41 Dec 18, 2019

tjkoen01 said:

Out of a 2014


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thank you so much! I wonder if the 2016 tank is the same on top. Does that piece on the smaller looking vent just slide off? Is it all that goes on there or is there also a hose? I’m wondering if mine was put back on. What does it look like after you slide it off?


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
L
LoneStar14
Registered

Joined May 7, 2019
20 Posts
#42 Dec 18, 2019

Had my Def tank replaced under the AEM warrenty. 12-9-19


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
[IMG alt="tjkoen01"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/34/34393.jpg?1571142097[/IMG]
tjkoen01
Registered

Joined Mar 27, 2018
332 Posts
#43 Dec 18, 2019

Sttail59 said:
Thank you so much! I wonder if the 2016 tank is the same on top. Does that piece on the smaller looking vent just slide off? Is it all that goes on there or is there also a hose? I’m wondering if mine was put back on. What does it look like after you slide it off?
I would guess they are the same on top. The vent is white, there is nothing else connected to it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
S
Sttail59
Registered

Joined Dec 16, 2019
14 Posts
#44 Dec 18, 2019

tjkoen01 said:
I would guess they are the same on top. The vent is white, there is nothing else connected to it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ok. Thanks again! Looking at the photo of the tank top,I’m wondering how hard it would be to try to see it or feel for it while the tank is mounted on my truck. I can’t check it now because it’s a blizzard!


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like

S
Sttail59
Registered

Joined Dec 16, 2019
14 Posts
#45 Dec 18, 2019

LoneStar14 said:
Had my Def tank replaced under the AEM warrenty. 12-9-19
My tank didn’t actually fail though.


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
[IMG alt="tjkoen01"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/34/34393.jpg?1571142097[/IMG]
tjkoen01
Registered

Joined Mar 27, 2018
332 Posts
#46 Dec 18, 2019

LoneStar14 said:
Had my Def tank replaced under the AEM warrenty. 12-9-19
I don’t have the AEM


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
[IMG alt="tjkoen01"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/34/34393.jpg?1571142097[/IMG]
tjkoen01
Registered

Joined Mar 27, 2018
332 Posts
#47 Dec 18, 2019

That came off really easy, I could see how you lost it!



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
S
Sttail59
Registered

Joined Dec 16, 2019
14 Posts
#48 Dec 18, 2019

tjkoen01 said:
That came off really easy, I could see how you lost it!



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks for posting this photo! I’m going to show it to my friend and help him look again for it!


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like

S
Sttail59
Registered

Joined Dec 16, 2019
14 Posts
#49 Dec 19, 2019

tjkoen01 said:
That came off really easy, I could see how you lost it!



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ok
tjkoen01 said:
That came off really easy, I could see how you lost it!



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ok tjkoen01, I sent this photo to my friend and he said he did put it back on. He didn’t understand what I was referring to before. Thanks again for the photo!

Reactions:Kazimodo
SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
[IMG alt="Kazimodo"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/6/6985.jpg?1571142094[/IMG]
Kazimodo
Registered

Joined Oct 9, 2015
4,654 Posts
#50 Dec 19, 2019

could the location of the little " VENT " be displayed in this image I got from another thread ??
at the TOP of image , small white part at an angle , ( not in circle ) on the top view of the DEF tank ,
( most part of image taken by new tank and bottom view ) .



SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
S
Sttail59
Registered

Joined Dec 16, 2019
14 Posts
#51 Dec 19, 2019

This DEF tank looks quite different. This photo looks like the bottom of the tank. I think the vent would be on top.


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
[IMG alt="tjkoen01"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/34/34393.jpg?1571142097[/IMG]
tjkoen01
Registered

Joined Mar 27, 2018
332 Posts
#52 Dec 19, 2019


That’s the best pic I have.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like

[IMG alt="idoseadoo"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/35/35862.jpg?1571142097[/IMG]
idoseadoo
Registered

Joined Jun 4, 2018
297 Posts
#53 Dec 19, 2019

biodiesel said:
I wonder what causes the level sensor to go bad? If we knew, there might be a way to help reduce the failure. For example, keeping the tank full might be better? It just seems odd that some are failing and others are not.
When I bought my eco, I kept the tank full at all times. You must realize that if this stuff dries, it leaves behind crystals. If you keep it full, it tends to not form any deposits. The sensor probably has a moving part that is frozen up by said crystals. I bet flushing it with warm water may free it up.

I think it's disgusting that the EPA mandates such strict emissions, yet doesn't mandate that the components be serviceable. $2000 for a def tank or DPF filter is obsurd. All these sensors and pumps and even the DPF filter should be removeable and serviceable. RAM will get hit hard for this as all US trucks WILL have a def tank failure and they'll have to replace the whole unit vs a $25 sensor. They did this on purpose to suck more money from the buyers. Glad they'll get burned by this, at least with the 2014-2018 eco's. They need to stop doing this nonsense.


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
[IMG alt="Kazimodo"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/6/6985.jpg?1571142094[/IMG]
Kazimodo
Registered

Joined Oct 9, 2015
4,654 Posts
#54 Dec 19, 2019

tjkoen01 said:
That’s the best pic I have.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
same angle as in the image with new DEF tank , post # 50 , you can see the old tank behind it ,
and the vent is right there .


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
[IMG alt="tjkoen01"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/34/34393.jpg?1571142097[/IMG]
tjkoen01
Registered

Joined Mar 27, 2018
332 Posts
#55 Dec 19, 2019

Kazimodo said:
same angle as in the image with new DEF tank , post # 50 , you can see the old tank behind it ,
and the vent is right there .
Yes


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
[IMG alt="tjkoen01"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/34/34393.jpg?1571142097[/IMG]
tjkoen01
Registered

Joined Mar 27, 2018
332 Posts
#56 Dec 19, 2019

idoseadoo said:
When I bought my eco, I kept the tank full at all times. You must realize that if this stuff dries, it leaves behind crystals. If you keep it full, it tends to not form any deposits. The sensor probably has a moving part that is frozen up by said crystals. I bet flushing it with warm water may free it up.
The level sensor has no moving parts as in a float or arm, it is ultrasonic. It is at the bottom of the tank so unless you run it empty, there is virtually no way for a crystals to form on the sensor.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions:Kazimodo
SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like

[IMG alt="Nightrainzzz"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/49/49045.jpg?1613579479[/IMG]
Nightrainzzz
Registered

Joined 6 h ago
2 Posts
#57 2 h ago

Sttail59 said:
My check engine light did go out. All by itself. You were right! I have one more dumb question. Is there a plastic piece that goes on a vent I believe that is easily removed?
I think I remember my friend removing one when we were wrestling around the tank to dump it. I don’t remember if we reinstalled it for sure. He looked around and didn’t find one in his garage.
Did you have to use a AlfaOBD software and a compatible OBD interface to get the new tank/level gauge to work properly??? or did you do the swap and everything worked.


SaveShare
Reply Quote

[IMG alt="tjkoen01"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/34/34393.jpg?1571142097[/IMG]
tjkoen01
I just swapped the tank and filled it up, no resets needed.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks
41 - 58 of 58 Posts
Prev


S
Sttail59
Registered

Joined Dec 16, 2019
14 Posts
#41 Dec 18, 2019

tjkoen01 said:

Out of a 2014


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thank you so much! I wonder if the 2016 tank is the same on top. Does that piece on the smaller looking vent just slide off? Is it all that goes on there or is there also a hose? I’m wondering if mine was put back on. What does it look like after you slide it off?


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
L
LoneStar14
Registered

Joined May 7, 2019
20 Posts
#42 Dec 18, 2019

Had my Def tank replaced under the AEM warrenty. 12-9-19


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
[IMG alt="tjkoen01"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/34/34393.jpg?1571142097[/IMG]
tjkoen01
Registered

Joined Mar 27, 2018
332 Posts
#43 Dec 18, 2019

Sttail59 said:
Thank you so much! I wonder if the 2016 tank is the same on top. Does that piece on the smaller looking vent just slide off? Is it all that goes on there or is there also a hose? I’m wondering if mine was put back on. What does it look like after you slide it off?
I would guess they are the same on top. The vent is white, there is nothing else connected to it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
S
Sttail59
Registered

Joined Dec 16, 2019
14 Posts
#44 Dec 18, 2019

tjkoen01 said:
I would guess they are the same on top. The vent is white, there is nothing else connected to it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ok. Thanks again! Looking at the photo of the tank top,I’m wondering how hard it would be to try to see it or feel for it while the tank is mounted on my truck. I can’t check it now because it’s a blizzard!


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like

S
Sttail59
Registered

Joined Dec 16, 2019
14 Posts
#45 Dec 18, 2019

LoneStar14 said:
Had my Def tank replaced under the AEM warrenty. 12-9-19
My tank didn’t actually fail though.


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
[IMG alt="tjkoen01"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/34/34393.jpg?1571142097[/IMG]
tjkoen01
Registered

Joined Mar 27, 2018
332 Posts
#46 Dec 18, 2019

LoneStar14 said:
Had my Def tank replaced under the AEM warrenty. 12-9-19
I don’t have the AEM


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
[IMG alt="tjkoen01"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/34/34393.jpg?1571142097[/IMG]
tjkoen01
Registered

Joined Mar 27, 2018
332 Posts
#47 Dec 18, 2019

That came off really easy, I could see how you lost it!



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
S
Sttail59
Registered

Joined Dec 16, 2019
14 Posts
#48 Dec 18, 2019

tjkoen01 said:
That came off really easy, I could see how you lost it!



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks for posting this photo! I’m going to show it to my friend and help him look again for it!


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like

S
Sttail59
Registered

Joined Dec 16, 2019
14 Posts
#49 Dec 19, 2019

tjkoen01 said:
That came off really easy, I could see how you lost it!



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ok
tjkoen01 said:
That came off really easy, I could see how you lost it!



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ok tjkoen01, I sent this photo to my friend and he said he did put it back on. He didn’t understand what I was referring to before. Thanks again for the photo!

Reactions:Kazimodo
SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
[IMG alt="Kazimodo"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/6/6985.jpg?1571142094[/IMG]
Kazimodo
Registered

Joined Oct 9, 2015
4,654 Posts
#50 Dec 19, 2019

could the location of the little " VENT " be displayed in this image I got from another thread ??
at the TOP of image , small white part at an angle , ( not in circle ) on the top view of the DEF tank ,
( most part of image taken by new tank and bottom view ) .



SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
S
Sttail59
Registered

Joined Dec 16, 2019
14 Posts
#51 Dec 19, 2019

This DEF tank looks quite different. This photo looks like the bottom of the tank. I think the vent would be on top.


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
[IMG alt="tjkoen01"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/34/34393.jpg?1571142097[/IMG]
tjkoen01
Registered

Joined Mar 27, 2018
332 Posts
#52 Dec 19, 2019


That’s the best pic I have.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like

[IMG alt="idoseadoo"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/35/35862.jpg?1571142097[/IMG]
idoseadoo
Registered

Joined Jun 4, 2018
297 Posts
#53 Dec 19, 2019

biodiesel said:
I wonder what causes the level sensor to go bad? If we knew, there might be a way to help reduce the failure. For example, keeping the tank full might be better? It just seems odd that some are failing and others are not.
When I bought my eco, I kept the tank full at all times. You must realize that if this stuff dries, it leaves behind crystals. If you keep it full, it tends to not form any deposits. The sensor probably has a moving part that is frozen up by said crystals. I bet flushing it with warm water may free it up.

I think it's disgusting that the EPA mandates such strict emissions, yet doesn't mandate that the components be serviceable. $2000 for a def tank or DPF filter is obsurd. All these sensors and pumps and even the DPF filter should be removeable and serviceable. RAM will get hit hard for this as all US trucks WILL have a def tank failure and they'll have to replace the whole unit vs a $25 sensor. They did this on purpose to suck more money from the buyers. Glad they'll get burned by this, at least with the 2014-2018 eco's. They need to stop doing this nonsense.


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
[IMG alt="Kazimodo"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/6/6985.jpg?1571142094[/IMG]
Kazimodo
Registered

Joined Oct 9, 2015
4,654 Posts
#54 Dec 19, 2019

tjkoen01 said:
That’s the best pic I have.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
same angle as in the image with new DEF tank , post # 50 , you can see the old tank behind it ,
and the vent is right there .


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
[IMG alt="tjkoen01"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/34/34393.jpg?1571142097[/IMG]
tjkoen01
Registered

Joined Mar 27, 2018
332 Posts
#55 Dec 19, 2019

Kazimodo said:
same angle as in the image with new DEF tank , post # 50 , you can see the old tank behind it ,
and the vent is right there .
Yes


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like
[IMG alt="tjkoen01"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/34/34393.jpg?1571142097[/IMG]
tjkoen01
Registered

Joined Mar 27, 2018
332 Posts
#56 Dec 19, 2019

idoseadoo said:
When I bought my eco, I kept the tank full at all times. You must realize that if this stuff dries, it leaves behind crystals. If you keep it full, it tends to not form any deposits. The sensor probably has a moving part that is frozen up by said crystals. I bet flushing it with warm water may free it up.
The level sensor has no moving parts as in a float or arm, it is ultrasonic. It is at the bottom of the tank so unless you run it empty, there is virtually no way for a crystals to form on the sensor.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions:Kazimodo
SaveShare
Reply Quote
Like

[IMG alt="Nightrainzzz"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/49/49045.jpg?1613579479[/IMG]
Nightrainzzz
Registered

Joined 6 h ago
2 Posts
#57 2 h ago

Sttail59 said:
My check engine light did go out. All by itself. You were right! I have one more dumb question. Is there a plastic piece that goes on a vent I believe that is easily removed?
I think I remember my friend removing one when we were wrestling around the tank to dump it. I don’t remember if we reinstalled it for sure. He looked around and didn’t find one in his garage.
Did you have to use a AlfaOBD software and a compatible OBD interface to get the new tank/level gauge to work properly??? or did you do the swap and everything worked.


SaveShare
Reply Quote

[IMG alt="tjkoen01"]https://www.ram1500diesel.com/d2/avatars/m/34/34393.jpg?1571142097[/IMG]
tjkoen01
I just swapped the tank and filled it up, no resets needed.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks sooo much tjkoen01, for your quick reply. I know this is an old thread, but still good information. I am fairly mechanical but not so much on the programing side. Your answer makes me much more confident about changing the tank myself, once again thanks!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,680 Posts
Nightrainzzz , I don't see what year your truck is ??
this is for the concern about the " DEF quality sensors" not present in 2014 and 2015 DEF tanks ,
if you have a recent truck and put in a 2014 or 2015 used DEF tank ,
the ECM will not receive the info from the non-existant DEF quality sensor
and ECM will throw codes ,
maybe you already knew this ??
 
41 - 60 of 64 Posts
Top