RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner
61 - 64 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Nightrainzzz , I don't see what year your truck is ??
this is for the concern about the " DEF quality sensors" not present in 2014 and 2015 DEF tanks ,
if you have a recent truck and put in a 2014 or 2015 used DEF tank ,
the ECM will not receive the info from the non-existant DEF quality sensor
and ECM will throw codes ,
maybe you already knew this ??
I have a 2014 and will install the appropriate tank 14/16. But I appreciate your input. I have heard you can put the newer ones in the older truck, but I did not know you cant put old tank in newer truck. Thanks for your input, may help someone else.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Greetings,
First post here....

2014 ecodiesel. Tank sensor has failed. I've located a tank assembly from a 2016. Tank looks identical. Pump and sensor look identical including connectors. Only difference is that the 2016 tank has an additional fitting with an electrical connector that is not mounted on wired to the 2014 model.
Dealer won't install because it isn't identical and part number does not jive.
Any reason that I can't install an ignore the unused connection?
I also have the same issues but found a 2016 tank from a wrecking yard. Yes I see the extra sensor connection. Did you fit the 2016 def tank to your truck? Did it operate fine and the def gauge read accurately ?
I'm ready to install but weary about extra sensor? Any help fast would be deeply appreciated.
Thanks Wayne
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Nightrainzzz , I don't see what year your truck is ??
this is for the concern about the " DEF quality sensors" not present in 2014 and 2015 DEF tanks ,
if you have a recent truck and put in a 2014 or 2015 used DEF tank ,
the ECM will not receive the info from the non-existant DEF quality sensor
and ECM will throw codes ,
maybe you already knew this ??
Thanks for the great info, I'm in the opposite situation. I have a 2014 with a bad def level sensor. I found a 2016 def tank with the quality sensor on it. Everything else looks the same.It should fit right and everything electronically operate correctly?
Any advice would be deeply appreciated.
Thanks Wayne
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Here is what happened to me, 2014 ram
Level gauge was throwing code
had choice of old style and new tank,
the old style was $150 Can. more.
I was nervous so got the correct one, old style.
Replaced and gauge worked instantly when I refilled the tank.
But it threw a different code def heater line open circuit.
The line that goes from the tank to the injector has a heat tracing
wire in it.
It is very difficult to get the lock mechanism of the tank.
I guess I twisted the line while trying to remove it an broke that line.
It is a thin wire. Had to buy a new line, I think it was $160can.
after that everything worked fine. You can message me if you want to talk on the phone.
 
61 - 64 of 64 Posts
Top