RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I’m new to owning a diesel car. I just bought the truck and haven’t had to fill up yet. I noticed diesel prices vary a lot from one gas station to the next in my town. One gas station sells it for 2.99 while the station across the street sells it for 2.55. Are there differences in quality?

·
Registered
74 Posts
Usually no, but it's good practice to get fuel from a busy station, this should ensure its not old fuel.

Reactions: UHBrandt

·
Super Moderator
2015 Outdoorsman EcoD CC w/6.4' 4X4
4,764 Posts
Depending on your location along what refineries are within delivery distance available there can be some differences. There are some fuel stations that sell different blend percentage of bio-diesel, others that sell engineered diesel sometime under the heading of Top-Tier fuel.
It's best to use higher volume selling diesel pumps.

·
Registered
17 Posts
$2.09 in TX. Woo hoo! Might be a good idea to buy from new and busy stores as well. New tanks less chance of rust and crud in the tanks.

·
Registered
258 Posts
There is also diesel designated for agricultural use (lower or no tax) that is usually dyed red to make it easy to identify. The lower price is appealing but you will incur hefty fines if caught with it in your truck, unless you're a farmer/rancher.

Dave

·
Registered
357 Posts
Get fuel from one of the big players, Chevron, Shell maybe Esso. Buy fuel from a newer fuel station that has asphalt molded properly so the underground fuel tank fill ports are at a high point not a low point where rain water collects and leaks into the fuel tank. Use EDT additive for extra lubricity and cetane boost you should be good to go prevention cost money but not as much as replacing fuel injection parts. Asphaltenes are a new threat I wonder what the HotShot diesel Chemists have to say if they have an additive for Asphaltenes or not.

·
Registered
4,824 Posts