RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all-
I just registered on the forum, and I am a newbie in the world of diesel. I currently have an '05 Ram 1500 w/HEMI. Love the engine, hate the fuel consumption (13/17). I'm lucky to get 11-12mpg when towing my 2500 lb boat/trailer. Towing is where I imagine I would really see the fuel savings rack-up! Needless to say, this new diesel intrigues me. However, I hear certain people warn about any diesel engine's short comings.

Such as:
1. "Diesels are terrible for short trips. It's the worst thing for a diesel!"
Is this really still a problem with diesels, or are these naysayers living in the past? I ask because my short commute to work is 5 miles each way (10 round trip).

2. Another problem I've heard is the "gelling" of diesel fuel in cold temperatures. Living in WI, the winters can be brutal. So what about it? Does diesel fuel still gel up in freezing
temperatures? Are there any special considerations required because of the climate? I figure it can't be all that bad since so many Canadians are running diesel.

3. I've also been told maintenance is more expensive. Like, diesel repairs are 2 or 3 times more expensive. True or false?

I'm trying to convince myself that this new 3.0L engine is the way to go. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
279 Posts
Smallmouth guy; a few considerations, mileage will definitely be better, if your primary towing is the boat, then no problem. On cold weather, I know Wisconsin is cold, but you see tractor trailers in that weather. Sure there are times such as we had the polar vortex last week, that sent 20 year record cold through the central US, that's hard on any motor, but the Ram glow plugs are tested to -24 F, and block heaters work well, so I don't expect cold would be an issue.