RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2,426 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
But we will probably end up with one.

About me: I'm a professional truck driver, 18-wheeler. Although I used to be COMPLETELY independent, I am now "leased to" an oilfield company here in south Louisiiana. My wife presently drives a 2012 Ram 1500 Big Horn for the same company and has over 120,000 miles on it. So at a minimum of 60K per year on her truck, it looks like it will make economic sense for us to get the diesel--if the claimed mpg turns out to be true. She's presently getting 19-20 with the Hemi/6-speed automatic.

And can you guys come up with a different abbreviation? Being old, fat, and out of shape I cringe when I see "ED!"

·
Registered
2,426 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Oh, and we did drive one. Our dealer received one, but it was pretty maxed out. Longhorn Laramie 4X4 for $53,000. Beings that we paid $25,000 for our present truck brand new, we couldn't eeeeeeeeeeeeven justify that kind of price. With the amount of miles we put on a truck it will be pretty well worthless in no time, so we're gonna go with a minimum of options. The Big Horn is sufficient, but the wife may like to upgrade to Navigation. Other than that, we'll see.

·
Registered
51 Posts
ED.. LOL ya i get it.. dont have it (whew)

So, $53 is asking you should be able to get what your looking for at under $38k. Get the nav.... its nice..

·
Registered
2,426 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The wife likes to get on the manufacturer's site, and she says that she's been able to get everything she wants--including air ride--down to about $32K.

·
Registered
13,970 Posts
That's what I paid for a 4 x 4 version. You could get "fancy" and come in at that with a two-wheel drive one.

She is getting way better fuel mileage with her Hemi than most all others I ever knew, know or heard about. She must have a secret. The Ecodiesel (ED) will do better.

·
Registered
2,426 Posts