RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 98 Posts

·
Registered
575 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thought it would be fun to do a towing comparison here between the Ecoboost and Eco Diesel. My previous truck was a 2013 F-150 FX4 CC Ecoboost (3.5L 365hp/420ft/lbs) with 3.55 gears. I owned the truck for two years and put on about 61k (38k miles). It was a beautiful truck with many great features but unfortunately mine was a lemon and spent A LOT of time at the dealer. Once the basic warranty expired I made the choice to trade it in on an Eco Diesel because I had zero confidence that the Ford would be a good truck for the 5-6 years I had planned on keeping it for. My current truck is a 2016 Ram Eco Diesel 1500 CC Laramie 4x4 with 3.55 gears. I've had the truck about a month and it only has about 1000km (600miles) on it.

Last weekend I went on a sled trip into northern Ontario that I've been doing for a few years. I also make this trip 6-8 times throughout the year, so I've had lots of experience on this particular route towing the toys. The highway conditions have variable terrain including some stretches of open flats, but also lots of moderate hills with twists and turns. The last leg of the trip consists of a 40km hike on logging roads. Usually I set my cruise between 105-110km/h (65-68mph), with the exception of the logging roads which are driven around 60km/h.