RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,

I have a 2014 Ram 1500 ecodiesel. Loved the truck until the engine completely blew with 36,500 KM on it. I was driving about 120km/hr down the highway when a loud knocking started. The engine completely died and a low pressure oil light came on before I could stop. I looked back and there was about 150 meter oil streak on the highway. Chrysler has not been totally forthcoming with me as to the cause of the failure. They have only told me that there was a baseball size hole through the engine block where a rod had punched through. No idea on timeline for getting it fixed either.

I am no mechanic or engineer but it seems like there are a fair amount of people talking about engine failures that have occurred on all model years, which makes me think the problem has not been rectified. I am somewhat fortunate I guess as this is covered by warranty, but I'm guessing this will be a costly fix to those when/if the engine fails outside of warranty. If Chrysler does know the exact reason for the failure they should be issuing a recall and fixing these vehicles, which they have not done.

I am filing a claim with Transport Canada in regards to a defective vehicle.

If anyone else has experience and engine failure in Canada please let me know the year and kilometres of your vehicle as Transport Canada needs to see some kind of trend before they will look into the issue.

Thanks

·
Registered
183 Posts
i have a 2014 big horn with 150,000 KM. my father in law has a laramie with 140,000 km and my brother in law has a SLT with about 80,000km I also have a buddy at work with 60,000 or so. not entirely sure there are actually major issues with this engine. if you come to a forum these days. you will find everyone talking about problems. thats where people go to complain. thats why you came over here right?

·
Registered
1,174 Posts