RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I figured with the addition of ecodiesel support for HP Tuners and the interest in modifying exiting tunes, I figured would start a post specifically for things I have learned by poking around in the ECM flash data. I don't have an HP Tuner device, so I'm not sure what can/can't be modified via there software, but some of this may be possible to be changed. Most of what I'll show will be from WinOLS, unless I can figure out a straightforward way to show it via hex edits.

If the information posted here doesn't make any sense to you it probably can't be explained via a forum. I say this because messing around with the ECM data can/will damage your truck or potentially brick your ECM. I primarily wanted to create a place for the "tweakers" to exchange information.

Personally, I am not an expert and have very little tuning experience (i.e. none outside of EcoD's), BUT any information I post here is reliable and I will clearly state if it has been tested on my vehicles. So, first up:

Axle Ratio Differences in Flash:

I finally got a hold of a 3.55 and 3.92 stock tune that were close enough that I could start figuring out the differences. I have successfully identified an axle ratio value within the FLASH data:

"Key Value" should be a unique value to help you find the location. For this it is: "00 01 3277 00 3277" (16 bit, HiLo, Decimal). I have tested this search and it has worked in 5 different files including Ram and Jeep. (Jeep's axle ratio was set to "00345" as expected.)

Is this the only difference? WinOLS shows 322 differences between the two files. A large number of them are related to checksum values. I have found a few other bytes with potential differences and I'll update this post if I can make more sense of the additional differences.