RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a new owner of one of these trucks I am very intrigued with the GDE tune for all the reasons that are very well represented here. I have one question ... has anyone had a catastrophic failure on a tuned engine? Being that mine is brand new if tuning will prevent failures that is of interest to me. I would like to hear your opinions...thanks. BTW...I am an ase master tech and plan on doing all my own service/maintenance. It seems that preventing soot buildup will greatly increase the engine life.

·
Registered
601 Posts
" no engine failure with tune" very hard statement. But chances of failure next to none with a good tune is more appropriate.

·
Registered
13,596 Posts
GDE used to totally shut off the EGR. That was a real bonus.

Now the new GDE tune coming out is an EPA approved version. It will reduce the EGR soot pollution but not completely.

Reactions: Jinx

·
Registered
791 Posts
I asked my service manager what he thought of tuning. He said if he owned one it would be tuned, like his Duramax. Still, nobody has come up with a solid answer why some have catastrophic bearing failures. Darned glad I got mine tuned at 5,000 miles. Now at 90.000 miles, oil testing shows almost no wear and very low soot with 10,000 mile oil changes. Sorry, didn't answer your question, yes some have failed with a tune, but seems like a way fewer percentage. Burning up because of a bad EGR cooler design, oil pump failing, etc. won't be affected by a tune.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #5