RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,850 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi to y'all from Texas!
I have been shopping for a new truck for a while now and I really like the idea of a half ton diesel that is capable of towing 8,000 pounds, or more, as well as getting 25 MPG while not towing.
IMG_1003.JPG
Saturday, I took a new EcoDiesel out for a test tow. It is a nicely equipped Lone Star CC short box 4x2 20" wheels, 3.55 rear end. RAM trucks dot com shows it to have a tow rating of 7,950 and payload of 1,432lbs. I have a 1972 Airstream Ambassador. It weighs 5,700 lbs as it was towed. I did a 47 mile loop around the lake here. It was the best towing experience I've ever had. The ITBC worked flawlessly. The ride was smooth and quiet. I'm very impressed with this truck. I do have some concerns, however. I have read of some coolant and oil temperature issues with the VM Motori L630 in the Jeep GC. I wanted to tow for myself before I buy and luckily the dealer was accommodating. There is only one hill around here so I thought I'd give it a go to see how it would do. It is a short hill about 1.4 miles from the bottom to the top. It towed up the hill at 65 MPH the first time. No problem going up the hill at all. Here is a pic of the EVIC at the top of the hill. Coolant temp 230 Oil temp 244.
IMG_1004.jpg
The second pass, I pushed it some more. It towed up the hill at 75 MPH no problem.
Please excuse the blurry picture.
Coolant temp 235 Oil temp 253
IMG_1005.jpg
The ambient temp was 75. No warning lights or chimes were illuminated or sounded.
I'm concerned about engine temperatures while towing in higher ambient temps on longer hills with a fully loaded (6,800lbs), ready to camp Airstream. I know these engines run hotter than we are used to seeing, but I can't seem to find anything that would tell me at what temperature I should be concerned.

Does anyone know at what temperature the "telltale" lights illuminate for the engine oil and coolant?