RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2015 Ram 1500 Ecodiesel, 2wd with 3.92 gears and tow package, Tradesman
Joined
·
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone had experience with the new GDE EPA compliant tune? I’m just curious. Knowing GDE, it’ll be great.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
My truck is finally out of warranty with 125k on her. I am anxiously awaiting actual users experience with this tune/tuner. I do like the idea of not having to swap out the PCM. What I am most looking for is the performance my truck lost when it was updated during the EPA settlement. Please post your results. An independent before and after same day dyno review would tell us all what we need to know before laying down $1,100+
 

·
Super Moderator
2015 Outdoorsman EcoD CC w/6.4' 4X4
Joined
·
4,630 Posts
There has been a couple of people with their initial reactions near the end of this thread:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
I just installed the GDE EPA compliant tune on my 2015 ED with 30k miles. Have not had time to go for a longer drive, but first impressions are really good. Throttle repsonse is better, power feels a lot smoother.
 

·
Registered
2019 Classic Laramie CC
Joined
·
31 Posts
I just installed the GDE tune on my '19 Classic ED cc 2wd. The install went ok, no problems. I did not get any codes after the install, just a trailer brake warning when I first started it that has not come back on. My initial test drive is pretty positive, has much better throttle response and shifts quicker. It shifts into 8th gear on cruise when before it would not unless you were going over 60 mph. If you got up to speed and let it shift into 8th then set cruise it would, but after stopping then using resume it would stay in 7th. Glad that's fixed. The way it shifts now should help with the mpg's. Kicks down quickly when you step on it and just feels more responsive, which is what I was hoping for. Lag when taking off from a stop is much better. I will update after I get to put some miles on it. Overall, very pleased so far. Thanks to GDE!
 

·
Registered
2019 Classic Laramie CC
Joined
·
31 Posts
So I got to drive down to the beach this afternoon and thought it might be a good mpg test for the GDE tune. This is what I would consider mixed driving, lots of back roads with stop and go driving, almost no sitting in traffic. Note the avg. mph. Not sure if it is better than without the tune being it still has less than 1k miles. But whatever I still am pleased in that my old '07 Silverado CC 1500 4.8l 2wd got about 18-19 mpg on this same loop that I have driven many times. I expect I may see a small mpg improvement as it gets broken in and the tune learns a bit more, if they do that. I will be towing my boat with it for the first time this weekend, I will post my impressions of that soon. 20200807_225719.jpg
 

·
Registered
2019 Classic Laramie CC
Joined
·
31 Posts
Towed the boat to our favorite ramp today and to say I'm impressed might be understated. Very smooth, never needed more than about half throttle to get up to speed, major difference between the ED and my old Silverado. My sister in law in the back seat said it didn't even feel like we were pulling a trailer. About a 50 mile loop there and back on back country roads, never going over 55 and the dash said 16.8 mpg, in tow mode. I did not order the trailer brake function but it downshifts on braking like it has it....maybe it is the tow mode. But it works well and very smooth. This truck is going to make towing a pleasure and the back up camera is aimed perfect for hooking up the trailer. BTW, my rig weighs in at very near 4000 lbs. 20200809_113056.jpg
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
For those who've purchased the EPA compliant tune, what is the flashing process like? How long does it take? Can you flash back and forth between Stock and GDE tune? EDIT: Same questions for the transmission portion of the tune.
 

·
Registered
2019 Classic Laramie CC
Joined
·
31 Posts
For those who've purchased the EPA compliant tune, what is the flashing process like? How long does it take? Can you flash back and forth between Stock and GDE tune? EDIT: Same questions for the transmission portion of the tune.
Your first have to install a bypass harness to allow the tool access to the ECU. Very simple. Included with purchase, I believe it is needed on 2018 models and newer. Then download your stock tune to the tool. Then connect with GDE and send it to them. A short time later they will send you the tune to download to the tool. Then you go back to the truck and install the tune. Complete instructions are on their website. The tool retains the stock tune if you ever want to put it back, and the new tune. They say eight minutes to re-install the stock tune. Sounds about right. The engine and trans tune are one tune together. Also reads codes. I will be keeping the tool in my truck should I have a roadside issue.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
Your first have to install a bypass harness to allow the tool access to the ECU. Very simple. Included with purchase, I believe it is needed on 2018 models and newer. Then download your stock tune to the tool. Then connect with GDE and send it to them. A short time later they will send you the tune to download to the tool. Then you go back to the truck and install the tune. Complete instructions are on their website. The tool retains the stock tune if you ever want to put it back, and the new tune. They say eight minutes to re-install the stock tune. Sounds about right. The engine and trans tune are one tune together. Also reads codes. I will be keeping the tool in my truck should I have a roadside issue.
Wow! very detailed reply, thank you.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
105 Posts
I love the ability to flash back to stock tune when going to the dealer. Will the dealer be able to detect that flashing is occuring? So is there a detectable event or activity log that the ECM is storing that will be a red flag?
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
8,907 Posts
I love the ability to flash back to stock tune when going to the dealer. Will the dealer be able to detect that flashing is occuring? So is there a detectable event or activity log that the ECM is storing that will be a red flag?
I believe there's a flash count.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
2,609 Posts
If there is, then the ability to flash back and forth seems useless or am i missing something
You can flash back and forth all you want. What it means is FCA if they want to can see the number of flashes. Can/will they use this information against the customer is anyone’s guess.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 97hmcs

·
Registered
Joined
·
105 Posts
You can flash back and forth all you want. What it means is FCA if they want to can see the number of flashes. Can/will they use this information against the customer is anyone’s guess.
So the FCA folks can see it but likely
dealership is not seeing flash count?
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
2,609 Posts
So the FCA folks can see it but likely
dealership is not seeing flash count?
I have no idea but as some more knowledgeable people here have alluded to, they believe there is a flash count. so it’s all up to the dealer weather they care to pay attention or not.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 97hmcs

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,637 Posts
There's been no reports of any dealer or FCA looking at flash count that I've seen. Either they're not looking or they don't care. It's a non-issue.
 
  • Like
Reactions: John Jensen

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Just installed the new compliant tune. I did a short drive (~40 miles or so) and can say that I am incredibly pleased. There is noticeably more torque at low RPMs, and the transmission logic now does its darndest to keep the engine RPMs low in the torque band. My only regret is that I didn't get the tune installed 6 years ago when I bought the truck.

I'll try to post an update after some more mileage has been put on the truck.
 
1 - 20 of 23 Posts
Top