RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
2014 has been making this squealing noise for the last couple days. Starts making it within a few seconds upon startup, and hear it when idling after driving any distance. It sounds like it's coming from the fuel tank area, but I honestly can't tell, and I'm far from a mechanic. Maybe someone can point me in the right direction. Thanks in advance. Tapatalk Cloud - Downlaoad File VID_20200627_135142~4.mp4

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I'm not sure if there's a better way to attach a video so it doesn't have to be downloaded.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
4,413 Posts
first thing to look at it the exhaust flange ,
easy to spot and could save you the DEF injector wiring from melting ...
pretty commun lately

Broken Exhaust Bolt
there is a metal gasket that should go there , if a bolt is broken , just break the other 2 ,
it will make it easier to move the 2 parts around to give you access with a drill ,
remove the pressed in studs and put bolts and nuts .
just not as long as one dealer did for a members .... shisssh !

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the suggestion. I just crawled under the truck and checked; all bolts are intact. Any other thoughts? Is there a recessed pump in the fuel or DEF tank?

·
Registered
4,413 Posts
there is a lift pump in the fuel tank .( image here )

when you first wake the truck up with key or foot on brake you can here it "Hissss " ,it sends fuel thru the fuel filter ,
first pressure is around 85psi , then varies , and feeds the High pressure fuel pump ( HPFP ) under the hood , front of engine ,
passenger side , the HPFP is hidden under a cover and foam to eliminate noise ,
that HPFP pressurises the fuel to pressure up to 29,000 psi to feed injectors , going thru tubes called fuel rails .
whatever fuel not used is sent back to the fuel tank .