RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I love this truck. I have been drooling for 2 years over it. And now they are here. I am hearing 25 mpg, I'm hearing all this great stuff...and I can't get one = (. I am due for a new truck next year or two. ( 2003 Silverado 1500HD, 6.0L 4x4 ) is my current rig. But the 1500ED just isn't enough. I do construction, and am always loading trucks up. Towing 6000lb (which the ED will do, but not sure if it will be happy EVERYDAY). The other day I loaded 5100# of mortar in my truck (2200# over payload), but there was a mistake on the order and i got 60 80# bags....not 30.

I have been contemplating using a trailer ALL the time, and payload wouldn't be a big deal. but I just don't think its feasible. I just want 30mpg in my truck so so bad.

I am very jealous of you guys.

·
Registered
1,518 Posts
Sounds like you just need a 2500.

·
Registered
1,337 Posts
I would definatly agree with that assesment

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I know I do, I like to think yea, I can use a 1/2 ton....my HD now is esentially a 2500...and it gets by most of the time. I like to think...ok I'll just take it easy on her...but that won't work either, especially when I need it to make money. And I'd love to be doing well enough where I'm just driving around to sites and make sure all is well...then a 1/2 ton will be fine...but I'm aways away from that too. So Looks like my 03 will give me 2 more years, then a 6.7 2500 and 8ft bed....Oh well

·
Registered
1,337 Posts
Or a 3500, 5100# is a shit pile of weight!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6