RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2015 Ram 1500 Laramie Ecodiesel
42 Posts
I'm no expert. I just did a few engine rebuilds and also did do what this guy has done: bought a 2015 Ram 1500 Eco with seized engine in hopes of rebuilding it. Issue I ran into is if I am to turn the block and crank, I can not find an oversized bearings to put it back together. Only ones I found we're of unknown quality shipped from Romania. So I bit the bullet, got a new engine into my truck, and now have extra Eco 3.0L motor sitting in my shop.
My findings were very similar to that of the video, except bearings were melted worse, and journals were plugged with that same material bearings are made of.
Bearings definitely got hot because of lack of lubrication, and in my opinion, because I saw the inside of the motor, that lack of lubrication is due to oil being diluted with soot.
10k interval for oil change is too much for this engine, it has to be at least cut in half.
It's like pumping fine grit into the engine and expecting oil to not become jello.

·
Registered
108 Posts
First, I hope he does follow up videos on the rebuild. That will be really interesting.

So I am no mechanic but I wonder if what he is showing is the cause or the effect. Is the oil hole plugged with melted bearing material (effect) or did the blockage come from something else which starved the bearing of oil (cause). I assume he would have to dig out some of the material and have it tested.

I have always wondered if the failures were due to the 60degree V vs 90degree. Or if it had to do with improper assembly at the manufacturer. I thought I had read that each bearing is color coded and has to be installed in the proper location. Or the "environmentally friendly" bearing material itself is just no good. Just guessing here.