RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
3,805 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well the laptop I have been using to come here for the last 4 years just died ...
beeping sound , associated with Bios start , " no operating system found "
seems the hard drive is dead .
I will no longer be able to link good stuff , as my files are lost ....
I have an old copy somewhere but it is pre-EPA crackdown , pre- Sept 18th 2019 ,
all the newest stuff I collected since then is gone .
I cannot access to help others ,,,,,, going to be quiet for me here unless I get my files back ...

·
Registered
162 Posts
Will It go to the boot screen or is it still in bios boot? If you hit f11 I Beleive it is you should be able to get a bios boot menu and possibly start in safe mode. Depending on your computer it may be another f key. Hate to see a guy down ebcaaude if computer issues.

Sent from my SM-A530W using Tapatalk

·
Registered
255 Posts
Have you plugged in anything new? Any usb devices plugged in? Unplug everything, and try again. Probably not this, but always worth a shot.

·
Registered
162 Posts
This may help.
A computer will beep and refuse to boot if new hardware is installed incorrectly. The hardware may be incompatible with the motherboard if it is correctly installed and still creating POST errors. For example, Intel boards beep twice in POST if the CPU is incompatible. You can also try disconnecting any non-essential peripheral devices.

Bad BIOS settings can trip POST beep errors and stop the computer from being able to boot. For example, Phoenix BIOS has an error code for an incorrectly configured video card. Unless you can access BIOS and correct the faulty settings, you can resolve the problem by flashing the BIOS and returning it to the default or safe settings
Removing the battery for a few minutes and reinstalling it can reset this issue sometimes.