RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie...my truck isn't even here yet!!! I am enjoying this forum. You guys are covering a lot of topics and it is great to hear real world results!

This is my first question (of many, I am sure). :D

Has anyone installed one yet? If so, which brands are recommended and what size tire could you fit with the factory rims?

·
Registered
21 Posts
I have one on my truck. Do a search here or on another forum, there is a ton of info. Basically there is an issue with the 2014 models that causes upper ball joint failure if you use the standard spacer style level kit. I went with the Bilstein 5100 adjustable level shocks. $200 for the set but it gives you the ability to set it for the height you want from like 0.5"-2.8". This setup also does not cause the ball joint issue. I have mine at 2.8" and clear 35" tires with zero rubbing issues. Hope this helps

Mark

·
Registered
69 Posts
Any effect on MPG with a leveling kit?

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Do you have 35/12.50/20's or a different width (exact tire size)? On factory rims or aftermarket? From my research thus far, the Bilstein's seem like the way to go! Also curious what your fuel mileage is with the larger tires? What gear ratio do you have, 3.55 or 3.92?

I have one on my truck. Do a search here or on another forum, there is a ton of info. Basically there is an issue with the 2014 models that causes upper ball joint failure if you use the standard spacer style level kit. I went with the Bilstein 5100 adjustable level shocks. $200 for the set but it gives you the ability to set it for the height you want from like 0.5"-2.8". This setup also does not cause the ball joint issue. I have mine at 2.8" and clear 35" tires with zero rubbing issues. Hope this helps

Mark

·
Registered
21 Posts