RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

· Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2018 eco with 65000 miles on it and live in Wisconsin. Took a 100 mile trim yesterday and on the way home home I started to here a light knocking noise but with doing 80 and the wind noise it didn't seem to bad. When I got off the freeway and turned off the radio I was leaving from the stop light and it was alot louder. I am not a mechanic but am a little or some what mechanically inclined. this knocking sounds a lot "deeper" and louder in tone than a lifter and is definitely not an exhaust leak. It sounds like a rod but could you make it 90 miles if that is what it was? I called the dealer this morning and explained to them what I was hearing and asked if I should drive it in or get it towed. There reply was, is it low on oil? I replied no. They said just drive it in. I start to the dealer and the second set of lights I get to are red. I stop and all of a sudden the engine starts to labor and chug like it is running on one cylinder. The light turns green and I step on the pedal and it has zero effect. I could not get get the truck to go even 1mp. After about 300 yards the engine started "coughing" and then starts running like nothing happened (besides the knock still there). I do not believe in coincidences, so how the hell could that be related to this knock and what do you think the knock could be? Thanks for any reply. By the way, no engine lights but dealer said it shows several codes.

· Registered
283 Posts
What are the codes? It could be as simple as a stuck injector, or as scary as a rod bearing. If you were able to drive 90 miles to the dealer with the knocking noise, i would be surprised if it was a rod or main bearing. Did they check the oil and/or filter for metal shavings? Fingers crossed!

· Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·