RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This is my first post and I'm looking for some experienced Ram 1500 owner input. Half is on towing so I wanted to post here, but also figured those in this section actually use their truck like I plan to also (no offense). I did some browsing on here, but wanted to also do a post for a quicker response. (Sorry for my impatience. And it'll be a little long winded since I like to give details)

My current plan is to purchase a 2020 Ram 1500 Laramie Crew Cab 4x4 6'4" box with the new Gen3 v6 EcoDiesel.

I'm completely new to the ED and to modern trucks in general. I drove a single cab 8' bed 1996 F150 5.0L V8 (200 hp / 270 ft lbs) with 4EOD auto for past 10 years, only hauling a 900# aluminum fishing boat, getting mulch, and home renovation supplies. I daily drive a 1999 civic as a work car getting about 36mpg average. I'm 30, and we're thinking about kids next year, so I need 1) a reliable vehicle, 2) something i feel safe putting my family in, 3) something I can daily drive and get decent fuel mileage in, and 4) something I can still use as a truck, haul my corvette with maybe 10 times a year and my rock crawler 5 times a year, get some mulch, etc.

From a practically stand point, a 1500 (F150) size truck makes the most sense. They can tow a fair amount when needed, but still have plush suspension, aren't a tank to drive, etc. My brother had a second gen 2500 5.9 cummins, NV4500 6 speed which i've used numerous times over the years before he sold it and it's just over kill, the ride was so stiff when not loaded, it's a mini rig, etc. (we also eventually put an s372 behind the hx35 and it made 1100 ft lb to the wheels :D)

So here I am looking at a 2020 Ram 1500. (I drove a 2020 Denali 6.2L and a 2020 F150 Lariat 3.5ecoboost, and decided the Ram was the best of the 3 for my personal preferences, quality of ride, and performance specs offered).