RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I really like the 1500 diesel especially because of the great MPG. I live in NJ, and would be using it for commuting 30 miles each way all highway, no stop and go and for home improvements. I have never owned a pickup because of the horrible gas mileage. But my question, would it be smart to wait and get the 2015 model so they can fix the kinks?? I was always told never buy anything the first year it comes out. AGAIN I AM A NEWBIE so take it easy. Thanks

·
Registered
6 Posts
I really like the 1500 diesel especially because of the great MPG. I live in NJ, and would be using it for commuting 30 miles each way all highway, no stop and go and for home improvements. I have never owned a pickup because of the horrible gas mileage. But my question, would it be smart to wait and get the 2015 model so they can fix the kinks?? I was always told never buy anything the first year it comes out. AGAIN I AM A NEWBIE so take it easy. Thanks
I plan on waiting since the release is very late and I am sure Ram will be adding more features to compete with the other big boys

·
Registered
89 Posts
Been there and done that twice. Will never buy a first year model again. Nice to have one right away but the dealer garage monkeys are the only guys that get to see it. Usually every couple weeks.

·
Registered
1,145 Posts
Welcome!

Whether to buy now or wait is always a question and there is no good answer. It all depends on your sensibilities and willingness to be an early adopter with all its inherent benefits and pitfalls. There may be a better choice or lower price in a few months but that is an endless treadmill. You have to decide if the current model is right for you or if you should wait to see what develops. The diesel should work great for a 30-mile commute in free-flowing traffic.