RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone,

I own a 2014 Dodge Ram 1500 Ecodiesel. It has been a rather dependable truck. I drive quite a bit, so far have put 182,000 miles on this vehicle. But lately things have started to creep up on me. I had to do quite a bit of front end work, such as struts, and bearings etc... no big deal considering the mileage. But today the Service light came on indicating “Electronic Throttle Control Needs Servicing” message. I am now at a loss, WHAT DOES THIS MEAN? Do you guys think it will be costly. Prior to the light coming on the engine seemed to miss a bit, then the light came on, seems to be running fine now, but the light is still on. Any suggestions would be very helpful.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,281 Posts
that "Electronic Throttle Control Needs Servicing" accompanies a multitude of different errors
you will need to have a place pull the actual code for more info ,
either get a code reader ,or go to Napa ,or another place like Napa , they will pull it for you .
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Congratulations on your experience with the 2014 Ecodiesel. I had the same truck and the engine locked up at 36,000 miles. I got a replacement, a 2016 Ecodiesel and now have 70,000 mostly trouble free miles. I have also experienced "Service Electronic Throttle Control" message several times. In my experience if you accidentally touch the accelerator and the brake at the same time that message will appear immediately. However, simply restarting the engine always cleared the alert. I figured that God gave me 2 feet and I tend to use both of them to drive; therefore, on occasion I touch both pedals at the same time, it is very sensitive to this.

More recently my truck displayed "Service Electronic Throttle Control". This time was totally different. The truck drove fairly normally below 40 mph, however experienced a severe lack of power trying to get up to highway speed, and
definitely lost power and speed trying to go up hills. Took it to the dealer and they told me the code pulled was "Turbo Under-Boost". They reset the PCM (Power-train control module) and performed a "Stationary De-Soot".
It sounds to me like maybe the exhaust particulate filter had clogged up and the truck had not gone into regen mode automatically so they forced it into that mode. They did this repair in less than 1 hour and charged me nothing.

Hope this helps. Good luck.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
I had the same message on my 2015 but when i shut it off it would not restart. Mine is still in the shop, (2-weeks now) replaced PCM and then it popped codes for crankshaft sensor and a code for the fuel injection. Crankshaft sensor came in yesterday so they will pull transmission and install it. My hope is this cures my issues but i am holding my breath. Good news is i have 95,000 miles on it and it's the first issue i have experienced with the engine. I don't want a new truck, i just want it to run again, my plan was to put a couple hundred thousand on it before i retired it. My advice to anyone who has not tried one of these is to drive one for a week, once you do most will have no desire to go back to gas V-8's and 6's, especially if you live in hill country. Mine was in the body shop a couple of months ago and i was given a brand new F-150 to drive for a week, nice truck but on the highway here in the mountains of NC the ecodiesel is superior in every way.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Guys,

I really appreciate the info. I took it to the dealer, but I’m not sure they know what their talking about. They have tried to tell me that the turbo may have a leak or may need to be replaced AT A COST OF $4000.00! I’ll trade it in before put 4K into it! They are acting like it’s going to take some time to figure out! This is really exasperating me! Just don’t know what to do!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,281 Posts
Richrob3 , not all Ram dealers have good tech for Diesel ,
if you feel that dealer is lost , you should phone around and take your truck to another dealer
with a tech that worked a lot on the Ecos . a good tech will narrow it down a lot quicker towards the real trouble
compared to a bad newbie tech without the proper formation.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,226 Posts
Same thing happened to my 2015 with the same under powered crap.
It took about 5 minutes for the truck to reach highway speeds.
Took it to the dealer - they blamed it on some sensor. Replaced same under warranty and I never got the "Service Electronic Throttle Control" ever again.
Dealer blamed it on the severe cold at -40F with no winter front on. Been using the front ever since and it seems to be ok.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
67 Posts
we have 2015 with 100,500 mi. on it and get this same thing about every 3 months, we reset with scanner and keep on driving
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
4,326 Posts
Dealer blamed it on the severe cold at -40F with no winter front on. Been using the front ever since and it seems to be ok.
Wowsers, -40F with no winter front, I could see that. I notice a difference with the engine temps in the mid 20's (°F) staying on the cool side without the winter front on. I could see why the dealer would mention that. At 0°F with only one lower open, I'll see just shy of a 40°F rise across the intercooler compared to ambient while traveling 73mph(boost pressure is about 13psi).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
279 Posts
I recently changed out my reluctor ring (had to drop trans and dpf). Upon reassembly, I forgot to tighten the starter wire and the exh. manifold EGT sensor wasn't plugged in all the way. I got that Service Electronic Throttle message when I first went to start it, when the starter cable was loose. Then I unplugged the battery, reconnected it, and the message went away. I got a CEL from the EGT sensor though. Reconnected it and everything went away. Try disconnecting your battery for a while and see if that doesn't make it go away, seemed to make it disappear (at least for a little) for me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
...and it lasted almost a whole day and the code came back. I reset the code and it came back about an hour later.
I might actually replace the MAP sensor and the boost pressure sensor.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
So I put a new MAP sensor in and a new air filter.
So far it's gone farther than it has in the last week without throwing a code. And the manifold pressure graph is a lot more active than with the old sensor.
Fingers crossed.....if I don't post anything more, then that's what worked for me!
?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
Error again! However I went a lot longer than previous times....several hundred km's. Of course I wasn't recording any sensors at the time.
So from now on I'll be recording sensors until it happens again.
I'm doing MAP, RPM and speed. Any others I should monitor?? Perhaps EGR ?? There are sooooo many to choose from.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
279 Posts
How's your battery doing? I heard this could be caused by a weak battery. What are your volts while it's running? You may need to take it off and charge it with a charger to bring the volts up. If you're below 13.5v while running, I'd say that's pretty low for tese trucks... I know I got this message when my battery clamp was not connected properly.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
Update...and maybe a clue.
I have replaced map sensor, cleaned EGR tube, new air filter. The map graph on my engine monitor always shows a good correlation between commanded boost pressure and actual pressure.
I started monitoring EGR position and noticed that usually there is a LOT of activity on that monitor, but almost always a percentage of error between commanded and actual EGR. Then every once in awhile there is 0 .... Flat line...
Is it supposed to do this?
Also I never get the Service Electronic Throttle message at cruising speed...only slower speeds, usually starting to accelerate. So far that's the only constant.
And I still the error code every one to two weeks.
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top