RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gents I am new to the travel trailer tow world and I am looking into purchasing one. My truck is a 2016 ecodiesel with gde tune w 3.55 gear. I think my maximum tow rating is about 8000lbs. I am looking at a trailer with a gross weight if 8487. So is this not possible with my truck or safe rather? Some didn't have a gross weight they had a dry and a cargo weight and I think you add those and get a gross weight.
Thanks!

·
Registered
107 Posts
But, to answer your question, there's a difference between possible and legal. You can tow that trailer with your truck. If you use weight distributing hitch and good trailer brake controller it'll tow it fine. BUT, in a crash the insurance company might hold you liable if you're over legal capacities. Plus, in some states the police will write you up for being over legal limits.

·
Registered
4,396 Posts
I too have a '16 with GDE ecm and trans tunes. Most I've towed is around 8900# and it did pretty well. My Toy Hauler pulls a lot of wind so that's an additional factor to the weight.

I wouldn't recommend pulling 8500# on a regular basis. I keep mine around 7500#.

What make and model camper are you looking at? Maybe we can find the dry weight and tongue weight on it somewhere.

·
Super Moderator
2015 Outdoorsman EcoD CC w/6.4' 4X4
4,349 Posts
At times when the 28' is fully loaded the trailer is in the 8K lbs range. It does fine but I don't think I'd push that much more especially on long endeavors.
It's interesting you can't find the GVWR for a trailer as that's a legally required specification on the trailer VIN plate.

·
Registered
2019 RAM 1500 Tradesman 4X2 EcoDiesel
23 Posts