RAM 1500 Diesel Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
2015 Big Horn with 92k miles. The CEL came on while my wife was driving. She says a message came up briefly that included the word 'throttle'. My guess is the Service Electronic Throttle Control message.

So I pulled the EGR tube to clean it off for the first time. In the process, I spotted some guck on another part of the engine. I'm not a mechanic, just someone who does the basics myself to save money.

Can anyone tell me what this dark, mushy mess is and where it came from? My best guess is a combo of coolant and soot, but why?

The vehicle was tuned from 7k until we received the AEM.

The only major trouble we had was an overheating incident that took place right after the EGR cooler was replaced a couple of summers ago. A new thermostat was installed and RAM reimbursed 75% of the cost. There's still some slow occasional leakage from the degas chamber; I top off the coolant as needed.

I'm concerned about longevity and reliability past 100k (and frankly, disgusted with $6+/gal diesel), but my wife is very attached to this truck. She wants to re-tune it after I finish cleaning this up. I am concerned about exceeding the extended warranty and cannot afford major repairs. Any advice? Thanks in advance.

Automotive fuel system Automotive design Motor vehicle Automotive air manifold Automotive exterior

Water Automotive exterior Gas Bumper Wood

Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive engine gasket Rim Automotive exterior

Bird Blue Wood Trunk Beak

·
Registered
3,645 Posts
I am concerned about exceeding the extended warranty and cannot afford major repairs. Any advice? Thanks in advance.
If you can't afford major repairs, then you may want to consider selling/trading. You'll have to decide the amount of risk you want to take.